Skip to content

SiLLiNeSS!

July 23, 2008

There’s a great category on Sandi’s blog, Always a work in progress, that is dedicated to the silly things that people in her family say and silly things that happen to them. Her family has so much fun together! I thought I would make a numbered list of silliness on my blog at least this once because imitation is the highest form of flattery. Also, if you could, please pray for Sandi. She is the mother of four and she has injured her pelvis. She is in a lot of pain (but the way she tells the story is really funny!).

1. My daughter is learning to read, especially when there are other clues that she can use to recognize words. So, Wal-Mart was one of the first brand names she recognized because of the star. The other day she was trying to figure out what was written in cursive red letters on the outside of the store. I told her it says “Always.” She furrowed her brow trying to think of an explanation as we steered the cart towards the trunk of our car. Her face lit up and she exclaimed, “I know why it says ‘always’ at Wal-Mart. It’s because we always come here.”

2. I’ve been teaching my daughter about telling time. We’ve been announcing what time it is, so my son is picking up some of those words even though he’s too little to understand what a clock does. He was in the bathroom with me and stepped onto our analog scale. He watched the red needle settle on 28 pounds and he said confidently, “Look Mama, it’s nine o’clock!”

3. My daughter loves to rhyme. She knows many examples like “socks and box” and “cup and pup” because of books written by Dr. Seuss. But, she’s gotten to the point that she wants to think of new rhymes that aren’t in the books. We were walking into a clothing store and as I held the door open for her, she loudly and proudly revealed what she had been practicing in her mind. She said, “Mom, I thought of a great rhyme: song and bong. Does that rhyme, Mom? Song and bong? Mom, did I make a rhyme? Song and bong.” I was trying to get her attention and convince her to lower her voice, but she thought I was ignoring her. I should have requested that she come up with a rhyme for “discrete.”

4. My children point out all American flags that they see. Every. Single. One. Finally my daughter realized that there are a lot of American flags around. She said, “Why are there so many American flags everywhere? Maybe it’s because people need to know this is America in case they got lost. If they don’t have the special papers, they’ll see the American flags and then they’ll turn around.” I’m still thinking of how to respond to that.

5. My son has this phrase, “Shaw-shaw-neen-nuk-a-nah,” that he loves to say. No one knows what it means, not even my son! It makes everyone laugh though, so he’s been saying it daily for months.

. . .

17 Comments
  1. July 23, 2008 1:17 pm

    ROFLOL! YOU MADE MY DAY! OH HA HA HA! These are AWESOME~you do me proud! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  2. July 23, 2008 4:03 pm

    Oh, those were great. I so miss having little kids around. I just don’t understand why my kids had to grow up. Though I guess it’s a good thing my daughter grew up or I’d be homeless. I can’t wait for grandchildren to hear them say the cute things your kids say. I love the Wal-Mart one. Actually I loved them all. #4 is just too funny.

  3. July 23, 2008 5:44 pm

    Sandi, great! I’m so glad that you like them. They make me laugh, and I love sharing what they say with other people. You must be feeling better if you are rolling on the floor!

    Joan, it is hard to watch them grow up without feeling a little sad. I would like the Wal-Mart one, too, if it weren’t so embarrassing. I keep telling myself that we will someday not have to shop there. Maybe when my son is out of diapers we can make other choices. I told my daughter about “special papers” because we want to take lots of trips to Peru and Japan. I was trying to explain that it’s not easy to plan a trip to another country. So now she loves referring to the rules of visiting and immigrating. You are going to be a wonderful grandmother!

  4. July 24, 2008 7:38 am

    It maybe 9 O’Clock for your son, but it’s well past noon for me.

    I think all the American flags are to let the people without “special papers” know that they arrived at their destination. 🙂 Interestingly enough, I have “special papers” here and there were an awful lot of hi no maru flying on Monday.

    Welcome to SiLLiNeSS! I think you should do this regularly. Although I do a lot of silly things on my own, this makes me want to have kids to multiply the silliness.

  5. July 24, 2008 11:00 am

    Bikkuri, lol, well 28 pounds is more like 7:30, which is part of what made my son’s assertion so funny. I know what you mean about people arriving at their destination. I’m not sure what to say to my daughter because it really shakes her foundation when people don’t play by the rules. I like the spirit behind SiLLiNeSS! posts and I’ll compile another list soon.

  6. July 25, 2008 10:15 am

    I absolutely love ‘what kids say’. Rhyming is especially fun. I’m surprised you didn’t just distract her on #3, like maybe saying something about BONGo drums and how KONGO rhymes with that? and so on and so forth.

    When my SIL was here a week (w/o the kids), we still had to point to EVERY. SINGLE. tractor. and say ‘C__ would see that and say TRACTOR!’ so it’s not just kids, I guess.

  7. July 25, 2008 7:49 pm

    CuriousC, oh yes. We get all the tractors pointed out too. And the dump trucks and the ambulances. I try not to get too distracted when I’m driving because I really don’t want to have an accident! That’s funny that your sister-in-law would still be pointing at all the tractors. 😛

  8. July 26, 2008 9:24 am

    Ahhh… yes, the flags. My kids have passed the flag point. Now, they like to point out obvious things, like trees or clouds. My favorite is when Emma points out houses to me. As if we don’t live in the middle of suburbia and houses aren’t everywhere. That one makes me laugh inside but I still play along with her “Holy cow, Emma! A house”. Dan says I’m being condescending but she likes it. I love the crazy things our babies say. They are natural born comedians.

    And why would you be embarassed for shopping at Walmart? Who doesn’t? It makes me sad that there isn’t a superWalmart (or superTarget for that matter) here. 😦 I would love to shop there on the regular. I think frugalness is a wonderful thing wether it’s by necessity or choice.

  9. July 26, 2008 5:25 pm

    if your daughter likes to rhyme-read my post today. And …
    Of course it is never quite discreet.
    To use all those terms you hear out on the street.

    WC from NC

  10. July 28, 2008 12:16 pm

    Chris, that does sound condescending, but our children want to be recognized and they need that feedback! I play along like that, too.

    Several things about Wal-Mart embarrass me. When they first opened in our town I remember banners hanging from the rafters “Made in America.” That was a big part of the fun of shopping there. Now that is not the case. I want to support business practices in a way that doesn’t put low prices at the top of the priority list. I want my daughter to have memories of shopping at stores where customer service is important, more like markets than super centers. I want to have enough money to spend $165 on organic sheets from a U.S. cotton mill (not that there are any left) rather than $19.97 on a sheet set from Wal-Mart. I feel like my values are not reflected in my purchases there.

    Wilson, thanks for visiting! I’m enjoying reading your latest posts. I didn’t know if you were going to pursue blogging or not. It’s great to hear from you again.

  11. July 28, 2008 8:58 pm

    I decided to write for myself and if someone reads it, fine. Thanks for reading. That makes 2 people 🙂

  12. July 29, 2008 7:45 am

    🙂 You made me smile with your self-deprecating humor there, Wilson. At first you will write for yourself, then your readers will come and you will begin to take your audience into consideration as time passes.

  13. July 29, 2008 11:24 am

    3 views today! I am, as they say, en fuego. 🙂 Like the flower pics very much and the plantain dish looks scrumdiliumpscious. The guy that won “The Next Food Network Star” Sunday night (yes I know my life is pathetic) cooked some glazed plantains as his side dish.

  14. July 30, 2008 4:43 pm

    Oh, Wilson, 3 views! Now you can “compete” with the “elite” bloggers for sure! The plantains were really good. It would be nice to know about glazing them. I had someone email me a recipe request for a carrot glaze sauce on plantains, but I don’t know that recipe. I like watching cooking shows sometimes; I wouldn’t call you pathetic. 🙂

  15. July 30, 2008 8:27 pm

    Hi, I followed you here from Bluemilk – your daughter and I totally think alike on the American flag front. Except I always notice them on other cars while we’re driving, in which case I announce to the rest of the car that looky, we just passed another American! And another one! And there’s another one. There are so many flags on cars you would totally think that they had all driven in from another country where people were confused about where they came from.

    Honestly, I’m not sure why it’s a custom to show the flag so much here. An interesting question.

  16. July 31, 2008 5:50 am

    Perhaps there are a lot of folks that are proud of their country. Here in Japan we get a lot of houses flying the ‘Hi no Maru’. Of course the right wingers often fly the naval flag from wartime that had the rays around the sun. I always joke that I have a foreigner registration card to prove I’m a foreigner… just in case my blue eyes didn’t give it away.

  17. August 1, 2008 2:51 pm

    Hi Emily. Thanks for visiting my blog. It speaks to how great BlueMilk’s blog is that I find really nice people there. Have fun spotting all the flags on your outings!

    Bikkuri, you know, I didn’t see any Japanese flags in my entire time there aside from the ones at government buildings. I didn’t know it was popular among the populous to display the Japanese flag. Maybe it is popular in certain regions or maybe the political climate has changed a bit since I was there. What do you think?

Comments are closed.

