Skip to content

F-F-Friday (3)

July 11, 2008

. . .

tomatoes on the vine

. . .

My friend Deb is excited about her thriving tomato plants and shares photos of them on her blog. She inspired me to take photos of my dad’s tomato plants. This one is off to a great start producing fruit, with even more promise in the little yellow blooms.

. . .

Queen Anne's Lace

. . .

The flowering wild carrot, or Queen Anne’s Lace as it is called in our area, has a reddish purple flower in the midst of lacy white flowers. Insects are attracted to that contrast. According to humans (not insects), it’s supposed to look like the Queen pricked her finger on a needle while working with the lace and a drop of her blood spilled. That’s why my hand is in context. But the true story is that when I was taking this photograph I needed to hold the flower still against the wind. It looks like it could be in an album of wedding photos since my rings are so prominent. I like it.

. . .

a drop of rain water on a lily

. . .

Notice the drop of rainwater at the base of this lily. It had just rained and the sky was still very cloudy so the colors are muted. This is a variety of lily that has double the petals: twelve instead of six.

Happy Fucking Floral Friday! I’m linking to Saintseester for good measure, as she’s the one who came up with this idea of posting photos of flowers on Fridays (and cursing).

. . .

11 Comments
  1. July 11, 2008 9:28 am

    I haven’t posted mine yet. Not sure what I’ll post about. LOL!!

  2. July 11, 2008 9:29 am

    Oh.. And Saintseester hasn’t posted her’s yet either!

  3. July 11, 2008 12:37 pm

    i’ve always wondered about Queen Anne’s Lace.
    Margaret Atwood mentions it in many of her books.
    i hope you post a pic when it’s bloomed!

    Lovely photos. i’ve never seen a twelve petaled lily. Pretty…

  4. July 11, 2008 1:14 pm

    Randomability, lazy blogging is understandable at this time of year. πŸ˜€ I see that you did publish a photo of daisies. Cute!

    c, some of them have just started blooming. I’m glad you like these photos. Here is one of the Queen Anne’s Lace in bloom, just for you. It was so windy, I didn’t get many. Their stems are so slender that they move around a lot.

  5. July 11, 2008 1:18 pm

    They’re so delicate and pretty.
    Thank you for the additional photo. πŸ™‚

  6. July 11, 2008 2:33 pm

    You’re very welcome. I’m happy that you requested it.

  7. July 12, 2008 3:24 pm

    Isn’t the Queen Anne’s Lace, the flower you can put in colored water and change the colors of the flowers?

    Well, at least you can curse on Fridays. Great photos!!

  8. July 13, 2008 6:48 pm

    Your dad’s tomatoes look fantastic! I am somewhat obsessed with my garden, I think, but I’m glad it motivated you to take pictures of the tomatoes and wild carrots! That queen anne’s lace is gorgeous.

  9. July 13, 2008 10:54 pm

    Joan, I think you’re right! I remember a science project at school having to do with that. Cool!

    Thanks, Deb. It is easy to obsess over a garden. I am going to send you my friend’s book and you will laugh at the passages he writes about his garden. Look for it in the mail this week. πŸ˜€

  10. July 14, 2008 5:34 pm

    My tomatoes are about 6 inches tall 😦

  11. July 14, 2008 9:40 pm

    Hi and welcome, Josh. Did you come over from the Campaign for Liberty blog? I’m sorry about your tomato plants. Maybe some bigger plants would be for sale at your farmers’ market. Or, who knows, maybe your plants will have a growth spurt soon.

Comments are closed.

