Skip to content

Insects Photo Series

July 10, 2008

. . .

bumble bee pollinating a flower

. . .

moth on an orange flower

. . .

Hummingbird Clearwing Moth

. . .

Hummingbird Clearwing Moth

Hummingbird Clearwing Moth

. . .

This little sucker, called a Sphingidae, was even harder to photograph than the butterflies were. It has such a pretty, furry body that I cropped the only photo I got of it so that the details would be easier to see. Apparently I didn’t even get it quite in focus, but I did try! It darts from flower to flower like a Hummingbird, but it is an insect.

. . .

16 Comments
  1. July 10, 2008 11:19 am

    Those are beautiful. I love the color contrast of the butterfly on the flower, with the purple in the background.

    Absolutely beautiful.

  2. July 10, 2008 11:42 am

    Thanks, Kemi! I thought that contrast worked really well, too. I had the camera setting on really vivid to compensate for the cloudy day.

  3. July 10, 2008 12:09 pm

    I love the photos and the vibrant colors. I also love that urn, vase thingy. That would look good in my Oasis.

  4. July 10, 2008 1:01 pm

    Thanks, Joan. You might not believe this, but my dad said to tell you that it is actually a lamp that he rescued from the dump. He has repurposed it as a garden decoration, lol.

  5. July 10, 2008 2:53 pm

    Great job, these are magnificent!

  6. July 10, 2008 9:47 pm

    Thank you, Ann!

  7. July 11, 2008 8:01 am

    I’m going to be such a girl right now…

    Eeewwwww! That hummingbird insect is NOT as cute as a hummingbird! Grody.

    Ok, now that’s out of my system…

    Congrats on getting a good butterfly picture! It is so hard to photagraph them and you did a great job. I’m going to give you props too for the grody Sphingidae too. I’m sure it was nearly impossible to capture a pic even though I might wish you hadn’t LOL 😀

    How’s your summer going?

  8. July 11, 2008 1:16 pm

    LOL, you said grody. Summer is good. I’ll be going up to D.C. tomorrow. There are lots of storms in the afternoons lately, so I hope we don’t get rained on.

  9. July 11, 2008 6:55 pm

    Good luck to you! Hope you have a safe and dry trip 😀

  10. calpy permalink
    July 12, 2008 10:58 am

    Hi 🙂 Very nice photos. Very good macro shots. Wow. I’ve got to learn how to use the manual macro function.

    Before I figure out how to place a link next to my blog posts, here’s the link to my photos on flickr!

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/calpy/

    Comments welcomed!

  11. July 12, 2008 9:16 pm

    You take the most beautiful pictures! I have many pics to share from vacation-but I am not a photographer-so they won’t be as beautiful as yours!

  12. July 13, 2008 10:42 pm

    Thank you, Chris. We had a great day with no storms.

    Calpy, thank you for sharing the link to your Flickr account. I will check it out soon. I’m glad you didn’t think I was to forward for asking about it. 🙂

    Mercedes, I am looking forward to reading about your trip and seeing your photos! Thanks for the compliment about mine.

  13. July 15, 2008 11:54 pm

    I think your pictures keep getting better and better! And I love the queen anne’s lace pic in the next blog up. 🙂

  14. July 16, 2008 6:40 pm

    Thank you so much, Kristin! The best photographs are always yet to be taken, as they say.

  15. globetrotteri permalink
    July 23, 2008 11:43 am

    Wow! Amazing detail and clarity. They’re beautiful Sarah. I’ve never seen a Hummingbird Clearwing Moth before. Thanks for sharing!

  16. July 23, 2008 1:13 pm

    Thank you, Carrie! I see them often on those particular flowers, but they are so difficult to photograph. I was lucky to get that shot.

Comments are closed.

