Skip to content

Fourth of July

July 7, 2008

We went to Kings Dominion for the Fourth of July, mostly because we wanted our children to have a great time on the rides and also because we wanted to see their fireworks show. I don’t have any good photos of the fireworks, but they were absolutely wonderful! We had to stay all day in order to see them. My husband and I didn’t ride any of the roller coasters because we couldn’t just leave our children to hang out and wait while we stood in line for hours. We were content to see how much fun they could have on the rides designed for their age group.

. . .

at the entrance of Kings Dominion

. . .

As a family, we did get to go on the Scooby Doo Haunted Mansion ride together and of course we could all ride the horses on the carousel. I rode the Taxi Jam coaster with my daughter. There was a sign that said, “If you are over 60 inches tall, you must be accompanied by a kid.” I don’t like the word “kid” for some reason. I try to always say “child” instead. Anyway, it was her first roller coaster ride ever and she was laughing uncontrollably at how fast it took us around the track. My son is still too short to try it (but he was asleep in his papa’s arms, so he still doesn’t know that his sister did something special without him).

. . .

driving the car at Kings Dominion

. . .

flying the plane at Kings Dominion

. . .

swings at Kings Dominion

. . .

We have a double stroller that we took to Kings Dominion two years ago when our son was only 6 months old, but this time we decided not to take it. Our children were fine walking on their own and since there was a big thunderstorm in the afternoon, the stroller really would have gotten in our way. It would have gotten soaked and then they wouldn’t have wanted to sit in it. During the storm we found shelter in the Construction Company playground. There was a net full of plastic balls that entertained them while the rain was pouring down.

. . .

watching a show at Kings Dominion

. . .

We watched the Dora the Explorer show and had fun singing along. Right before the show we took photos with Dora and Diego. Neither of our children cried. They were so brave, especially our son who wanted to spend the entire day blowing kisses to guy in the Scooby costume. They rode in SUVs, race cars, planes, rockets, and swings. Most of the time they were right beside each other, negotiating the big sister-little brother relationship.

. . .

Scooby Doo at Kings Dominion

. . .

Diego at Kings Dominion

. . .

Dora at Kings Dominion

. . .

The food was terrible, especially our supper. If I didn’t have such a stomach of steel, I think I would have vomited. I packed an apple from home, which was the best thing we ate all day! We are going to go to Kings Dominion again because we bought the type of ticket that gets us in twice, so I will pack all of our food and just avoid eating in the nasty restaurants. We will most likely be talked into buying the $4 cotton candy, though.

As we were trying to find things to do at the end of the night, we hung out in the restful Cave Kids building, putting together wooden puzzles and doodling on the chalkboard. Then we took the elevator to the top of the replica of the Eiffel Tower. I was pleased that my daughter recognized it was like the one in Paris because of the Madeline series of books. Once we got up to see the view, there were a lot of insects swarming around the lights and the metal floor was really wet because of the rain. My son saw how far up we were and said, “Ay ay ay.” After we had seen the flames shoot out of the Volcano roller coaster several times, we took the elevator back down and walked toward the exit to see the fireworks from the parking lot. They started the fireworks show at 10:00 and we had a clear view from right outside the gate beside the newest roller coaster, the Dominator.

Here’s a video of some of the rides and the Dora Sing Along Adventure:

. . .

. . .

25 Comments
  1. July 7, 2008 10:56 am

    It looks like it was so much fun! The kids looked like they had a blast. They did the chicken dance really well too! I was impressed with all of your chicken dancing abilities 😉 I bet they slept really good after the fun day they had.

  2. July 7, 2008 11:00 am

    Chris, the chicken dance was hilarious. My clothes were still wet, but I tried to have a good attitude for their sake. They fell asleep in the car and we slept in until 11:00 on Saturday. It is taking a while to recover from the trip, but it was a lot of fun!

  3. July 7, 2008 11:19 am

    good times

  4. July 7, 2008 11:50 am

    That looked like a lot of fun!!!

    My 4-year-old walked past the computer as I was scrolling past the Dora pictures, and she started yelling, “We have GOT to go there!”

  5. karriew permalink
    July 7, 2008 11:55 am

    The rides for smaller kids do look well maintained, at least. I’ve taken M a few times to fairs and parks and had to distract him from rides with missing/torn seateblts, etc.

  6. July 7, 2008 12:49 pm

    Hey, CuriousC. Thanks for coming by!

    Kemi, lol, come on and we can go together!

    Karrie, yes they do seem taken care of and the attendants are nice too. I don’t like those temporary/portable fairs for that very reason. I’m so jealous of your fireworks photos!

  7. July 7, 2008 1:15 pm

    i’m glad that you had fun.
    i haven’t been to an amusement park for years.

    Very nice pictures, too.

  8. July 7, 2008 2:57 pm

    OH wow! We must not live too terribly far from one another…. (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  9. July 7, 2008 3:24 pm

    I would love to go on a Scooby Doo Haunted Mansion ride.
    I love Scooby doo… As far as cartoon heroes go, Scooby is up there, but then Bullwinkle is awesome too.

    Enjoyed the Scooby pic! and sounded like you should have eaten Scooby treats for supper :0

  10. July 7, 2008 5:56 pm

    FUN!!!!

    We have a play day here sponsored by my husband’s employer. They bring in carnival rides too. We pay for the wristband and get food tickets. It’s great fun!

    My daughter went on the Scrambler (Well, the mini version) and LOVED it. It was a mucky day, so we didn’t bring our camera.

  11. July 7, 2008 10:09 pm

    Hey FW – I haven’t watched the video yet; I”m saving that for when Nick gets back from Gramma’s. But I know he’d love the park and rides. We are Disneyland passholders (we live 6.5 miles from there, and both hubby and I are ex-Cast Members), so he’s already well on board with riding rides. He’d love the roller coaster, and I think he’d get a real kick out of seeing Dora and DIego: he loves them!!

  12. July 8, 2008 9:53 pm

    Wow, that sounds like a really busy day! I’m sort of tired just imagining it. lol. Glad everyone had fun!

  13. July 9, 2008 2:00 am

    I don’t trust that version of Dora. Her arms are too crinkly and she is trying way too hard with that carefree pose. Shouldn’t she be off in the Amazon exploring anyway?

  14. July 9, 2008 11:18 am

    Johnnypeepers
    You are hilarious! I just actually LOL’ed at that. Way to be on the lookout

  15. July 10, 2008 11:40 am

    c, amusement parks were our field trips throughout school because Busch Gardens and Kings Dominion are both do-able day trips. Then two years ago when our daughter was old enough to go on some of the rides and my husband wanted to explore the Commonwealth, we went. Now that our son is old enough to ride it’s even better.

    Sandi, oh really? Email me if you want to.

    LarryG, thanks for visiting my blog! Your Scooby comments crack me up; you are so right about the snacks.

    Randomability, she loved the Scrambler? Wow, what an adventurous daughter you must have!

    Princess Edamame, passholders and former cast members? Wow! That’s awesome. I hope your son likes our dorky little video.

    Deb, lol. I saw that you painted on that day and was thinking of the contrast in how we spent our Friday. Our trip was exhausting. Maybe we are a little “touched in the head” for taking so much on.

    Johnny, she struck that pose a lot during the Sing Along. LOL.

  16. July 12, 2008 9:17 pm

    Aaaahhhhh~to be a kid again! So much fun!

  17. July 13, 2008 12:40 am

    We loved the video – kiddo watched the chicken dance over and over!

  18. July 13, 2008 10:28 am

    How fun is that! Your children are getting so big!

    Looks like you are growing your hair out? CUTE!

  19. July 13, 2008 10:51 pm

    Mercedes, they certainly enjoyed themselves!

    Princess Edamame, that’s great! He was dancing along, I presume. 😀

    Darla, my hair right now is just the result of laziness. I’m probably going to get it cut again soon. Yes, the children are getting bigger. The other day my son stepped onto our analog scale in the bathroom and said, “Look Mom, it’s 9 o’clock!” I laughed so hard.

  20. rufous permalink
    July 14, 2008 7:56 pm

    What a beautiful family. It looks & sounds like you enjoy one another. How special.

  21. July 14, 2008 9:46 pm

    Hi Rufous! Thanks for visiting my blog and checking out this post about our vacation. I appreciate it.

  22. July 15, 2008 12:38 pm

    Yikes! All I have to say is: “That Dora is HUGE! I never imagined she was so big.” I’m with Johnny; I don’t trust her. Sorry I haven’t been keeping up to speed on things lately.

  23. July 15, 2008 2:37 pm

    Bikkuri, no worries on keeping up or not. I just enjoy your comments whenever you make them. When we went to Kings Dominion two years ago, my daughter was screaming and crying because of the Blue’s Clues character Blue. On TV she’s a tiny dog, but at the park she is huge. It is very intimidating for a 2 year old.

  24. rufous permalink
    July 17, 2008 12:09 am

    FW,
    Didn’t know you had a blog until you mentioned it somewhere else. So many folks have blogs. How does one have the time?

    I’m gonna cruise your blog & see what’s here. Looks cool.

  25. July 17, 2008 2:51 pm

    Rufous, I do spent too much time on-line and this is the result. Thanks for coming to look around.

Comments are closed.

