Skip to content

Ten Things I Love About You: A Meme

June 29, 2008

My friend Rebecca and her husband are celebrating their fourteenth wedding anniversary, so she started this meme in honor of their love. She knew that I needed this exercise to remind me of the great things about my husband, so I got tagged! If you are in place in your marriage where you need to remember the great things about your partner, take the time to do this and you will feel secure and less doubtful. It will also be something to come back to and something you can share with your partner to give voice to how you feel.

fighting windmills

Ten Things I Love About You

10. Your dark brown eyes captivate me.

9. As you are learning to speak English, you are developing a Southern accent.

8. You support me staying at home and educating our children.

7. You are dedicated to being my partner for life.

6. The sacrifice that you made by coming to the States still affects us, but you are trying to make it work so that our family will be happy.

5. You like helping me keep our home neat and clean.

4. The senseless jokes that you and our children tell each other are so endearing.

3. You have helped me learn to cook, and you compliment me when I do it well.

2. Your laugh is the happiest laugh I have ever heard.

1. Even when your body is weary from working hard, you come home happy. You bring energy and enthusiasm in the door with you.

. . .

maravilla del mundo

. . .

Y ahora voy a traducir todo eso para que entienda mi amorcito.

10. Me encanta el color oscuro de tus ojos. Me captivan con su belleza.

9. Mientras estás aprendiendo a hablar inglés, te está saliendo un acento al estilo sur.

8. Me apoyas, haciéndolo posible que me quede en casa educando a nuestros hijos.

7. Estás dedicado a ser mi esposo de por vida.

6. El sacrificio que hiciste por venir conmigo a los Estados Unidos todavia nos afecta, pero estás esforzandote para que funcione felizmente nuestra familia.

5. A ti te gusta ayudarme a mantener nuestro hogar limpio y ordenado.

4. Es tan lindo escucharlos a ti y a los bebes contarse chistes y hacerse reír.

3. Me has ayudado a aprender a cocinar, y comentas cuando cocino algo rico.

2. Cuando te ríes, tienes la risa más feliz que jamás he escuchado.

1. Aún cuando tu cuerpo está muy cansado de tanto trabajar, vienes a casa de buen humor. Traes contigo energía y entusiasmo.

fighting windmills

9 Comments
  1. June 29, 2008 12:16 pm

    Wonderful things to love!
    Your son looks just like his papa. 🙂

    It’s good to remember these things, come back to them from time to time when things bother you. It’s these fundmental aspects of your partner that will bring you back to the root of your love when the world and weariness creep about.

  2. June 29, 2008 3:08 pm

    I love your list. It’s so important to remember the things we love about our spouses!

    I’m sad we won’t be coming to Virginia anymore. We were looking forward to meeting you and your family, and seeing all those beautiful flowers you’ve taken pictures of in person! 🙂 Thankyou again for your sweet offer. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. June 29, 2008 7:53 pm

    I think if I was married, I’d have to do something like this every month or run away screaming! It is so good to focus on the reasons you committed to each other, as a reminder of the relative unimportance of the annoying things that crop up in our day to day lives. This is a great list, and a great meme!

  4. June 30, 2008 12:37 pm

    Very sweet FW! I don’t think we tell each other often enough what it is that we love about them. Especially our spouses. I’m debating on wether I should do this meme myself. ‘Some’ people apparentely think I love my husband too much and would probably hurl if they had to read about it LOL.

    But it’s very sweet that you did it and I hope you made sure he read it or shared it with him. I like that you rewrote it in spanish. That was an awwww moment

  5. July 1, 2008 11:07 am

    Thank you, c. I had not done a list like this before, but it does have a calming effect.

    Kristin, thanks for commenting. I’m sad that you all are not coming to visit. You’re welcome to come some other time.

    Deb, you’re right. It would be nice to make a new list every month to keep focused. It is a great meme. I like how you said you would run away screaming. At least you are honest about it. I didn’t know how hard it would be since I was not honest with myself or anyone else about what I wanted.

    Chris, thanks! I did share it with my husband. I told him about the concept when I had only come up with 8 things on the list and I teased him that it would be tough to come up with 2 more. Then the next day, I showed him the finished list here on my blog. He loved reading it!

  6. July 2, 2008 11:22 am

    Beautiful idea. I’m at a point right now where I think we both need to do this for the other about once a month! Sigh.

  7. July 5, 2008 5:26 pm

    I agree with you, Westward Bound. Rebecca came up with a beautiful idea at just the right time. I wonder how different my list would be a month from now. And I like the thought of reading his list of things he loves about me, too.

  8. July 6, 2008 11:25 pm

    This was really beautiful~and what a gorgeous family! I clicked over from shinkurri~did I spell that right? (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  9. July 7, 2008 8:53 am

    Thanks for clicking over for a visit, Sandi! Welcome. Our mutual friend spells his name Bikkuri. 🙂

Comments are closed.

