Skip to content

F-F-Friday (2)

June 27, 2008

I wanted to share these photos with you all. It’s my second installment of the Fucking Floral Friday series that Saintseester started.

My parents have a really pretty bush on the left side of their back door. It was being pollinated by bumblebees when I was out there last Sunday. My dad has many varieties of lilies at this time of year, and I attempted some dramatic angles. Also, the petals have all fallen from the clematis and this is what’s left of that flower. I think it looks really cool.

I usually set my camera to “vivid” and obviously “macro,” and then I can choose between “evaluative,” “center weighted average,” and “spot” focuses. I don’t know what those terms mean, so for me at this point, I fuck around with the settings and see if I can take any photographs worthy of sharing. Hit or miss.

. . .

bumble bee pollinating

. . .

pollen in a white lily

. . .

fuchsia lily with yellow accents

. . .

clematis with no petals

. . .

17 Comments
  1. June 27, 2008 10:54 am

    I, too, like those swirly no-longer clematis flower things!

  2. June 27, 2008 11:50 am

    Very cool!!! You have a gift for photgraphy.

  3. June 27, 2008 12:34 pm

    And I have a gift for not being able to spell/type ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. June 27, 2008 1:06 pm

    beautiful! way to f around!

  5. June 27, 2008 2:30 pm

    Excellent shots!
    Especially the white lily. The focus of the photo is unusual.
    It grabbed my eyes.

  6. Lofter permalink
    June 27, 2008 6:57 pm

    Well done, my friend! Well done, indeed!

  7. June 27, 2008 7:07 pm

    Those are neat – I do like the flower without its petals as well!

  8. June 28, 2008 10:27 am

    Very pretty, one of my favorite subjects too, they don’t squirm around and they always smile:)

  9. June 28, 2008 11:15 am

    CuriousC, the swirl is really neat. I guess the ones at your house look like that too.

    Randomability, lol, thank you!

    Goldie, thanks.

    c, thank you. I agree that it has a pull.

    Lofter, thank you.

    Saintseester, thanks.

    bookbabie, that’s the truth. They make it easy.

  10. June 28, 2008 4:42 pm

    Evaluative means the camera is going to average out the light in the whole scene, Center weighted means the camera is going to average the light from just the center of the scene and spot focus means the camera is going to evaluate the light in a certain very small spot that you center on. Spot metering is the most difficult to work with but if you do it correctly can have great results. But which ever you are using it is obviously working. The photos are stunning. I used to do a lot of photography when I was younger with my 35mm camera. Now with my digital I just put everything on automatic.

  11. June 28, 2008 11:07 pm

    Thanks for explaining those terms to me, Joan. You rock!

  12. June 29, 2008 11:16 am

    I was surprised by bookbabie’s comment because, whenever I try to get macro shots of flowers we have wind and they squirm around. I want to take more and you have inspired me. Once I get off my sit bones and order up a new camera I think I will go on a plant life quest. The other day, in a misty rain, I saw droplets beading up on gingko leaves and was really desiring the new (toy) tool.

    Your red flower is incredible. The white one was awesome, but I think it would be better with a deeper field of focus. Keep up the good work.

  13. June 29, 2008 4:23 pm

    Bikkuri, the wind is something to consider. I try to time the photographs in moments of calm, which I guess happen more often here than in windy Japan. A plant life quest sounds divine. Thanks for your suggestion and compliment.

  14. June 30, 2008 12:40 pm

    Beautiful as always

  15. July 1, 2008 11:07 am

    Thank you, Chris!

  16. July 5, 2008 9:07 pm

    Wow Windy, those are fucking fantastic. Gorgeous, really.
    Annie

  17. July 5, 2008 11:23 pm

    Thanks, Annie! I have a great time looking around my parents’ house for photo opportunities. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.

