Skip to content

Favorite Quotes Meme

June 24, 2008

Deb, of unrelenting ambiguity, asked me to share a few of my favorite quotes. I really like the ones she picked. I’ve tried to pick some good ones too. Most of mine ended up being from novels because I have such strong memories of how my high school English classes shaped my worldview.

. . .

‘I hate a Roman named Status Quo!’ he said to me. ‘Stuff your eyes with wonder,’ he said, ‘live as if you’d drop dead in ten seconds. See the world. It’s more fantastic than any dream made or paid for in factories. Ask no guarantees, ask for no security, there never was such an animal.’ Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

“Do not let the bastards grind you down.” The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

“If you can appreciate being where you are even in those early years of giving most of your energy, time, and love to your kid, give yourself over to it and reap everything that it has to offer in terms of lessons and growing, the unconditional love will flow back your way. Those are huge rewards. I think that resistance is futile.” Ani DiFranco in mothering magazine

“A genuine man goes to the roots. To be a radical is no more than that: to go to the roots. He who does not see things in their depth should not call himself a radical.” José Martí

“There was so much to grok, so little to grok from.” Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein

“The spread of evil is the symptom of a vacuum. Whenever evil wins, it is only by default: by the moral failure of those who evade the fact that there can be no compromise on basic principles.” Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

“There are years that ask questions and years that answer.” Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

. . .

self portrait in truck mirror

. . .

12 Comments
  1. June 24, 2008 1:48 pm

    I love that Hurston line.
    Lovely self portrait too.

    Ps: I’ve tagged you for a much less intellectual endeavor…

  2. June 24, 2008 2:40 pm

    Great quotes and great pic!

  3. rosiemolinary permalink
    June 24, 2008 5:33 pm

    Love the DiFranco and Hurston quotes but not nearly as much as I love that very inspired self-portrait.

  4. Lofter permalink
    June 24, 2008 7:27 pm

    As a certified quote freak, I most assuredly appreciate each one of these! Ayn Rand is my favorite, but have used the Atwood quote more often. The Hurston quote reminded me of another of my all-time favorites:

    “Sometimes I lie awake at night, and ask, ‘Where have I gone wrong?’ Then a voice says to me, ‘This is going to take more than one night.'”
    – Charles M. Schultz (American cartoonist, 1922-2000)

    The photograph is great! I once took a photograph of a tree-lined road in the side mirror of my car, one that I was quite proud of actually. (I’ll include it in an upcoming post) Whenever anyone got to that particular image, all I got from them was, “Why’d you take a picture of your mirror?” LOL! I know you won’t be getting any of that! Well done, my friend! 😀

  5. June 24, 2008 8:09 pm

    Great quotes! I read this in my reader while at work, and had something to occupy my thoughts for a while. I especially love the Martí quote. I have heard it before, I think, or something close, and it really hits home for me. It is funny, I’d read most of the books you quoted from, and they also were ones that have stuck in my mind, but I wouldn’t have remembered those quotes from them! Books are so interesting that way. I can reread some books and come away with things I hadn’t remembered from earlier readings. The heinlein I did come across recently, while on the wiki page for grok. Can’t remember WHY I was there, but there I was! lol.

    Thanks for participating! I really enjoyed the quotes you chose, as expected! 🙂

  6. June 25, 2008 12:07 am

    Nice quotes and great self-pic!

  7. dummidumbwit permalink
    June 25, 2008 3:13 am

    Such lovely quotes, If it were not for the Ron Paul link to the right, I’d swoon?

  8. June 25, 2008 12:45 pm

    Westward Bound, thank you for the compliment and the tag.

    CG, thank you!

    Rosie, thanks a lot! It was fun to stage that portrait.

    Lofter, I love that you certified yourself as a quote freak. That mirror belongs to my dad’s 1978 GMC Sierra. A well-loved truck that is an integral part of my growing up out in the country. I look forward to seeing your sideview mirror photo.

    Deb, I used wikiquote to get these quotes from books I remembered liking. That’s too funny that you were looking up “grok” recently. 🙂 I really enjoyed this meme. Thank you!

    Sky, thank you!

    dummidumbwit, surely this combination of quotes would indicate support of Ron Paul. At least, that’s what I thought. 🙂

  9. dummidumbwit permalink
    June 25, 2008 1:44 pm

    Ron Paul has seemed to have an affect on some very well informed educated people that amazes me, as an unreconstructed New Deal Democrat I’ll leave it at that, nice blog nice quotes. Peace and Love!

  10. June 26, 2008 8:41 am

    Thanks, dummidumbwit. I appreciate your respectful tone, even if you don’t agree.

  11. June 26, 2008 4:17 pm

    Great quotes from great books. I am a Sci Fi fan and you’ve quoted a couple of great Sci Fi writers. BTW, I have added you to my blogroll if that’s OK.

  12. June 27, 2008 10:51 am

    Thanks, Joan. I am honored to be included.

Comments are closed.

