Skip to content

F-F-Friday

June 20, 2008

This is a photo of Lady Rebecca Staunton, a lily developed in 1997 by Andre Viette and planted in my dad’s garden. It reproduces naturally so he is able to give offspring away to friends in the Staunton area.

. . .

lady rebecca staunton lily

. . .

This is a photo of a deliciously scented mock orange flower, on a shrub that grows on the border of his garden.

. . .

mock orange flower

. . .

Thanks to Saintseester for hosting F-F-Friday and to Randomability for her inspirational participation. I think I’m supposed to mention the f-word somewhere in this post, but I’m worried about Lady Rebecca Staunton’s reputation. I wouldn’t want to mock her, so I will just call today Feminine Floral Friday.

10 Comments
  1. June 20, 2008 12:15 pm

    LOL!!! Those are beautiful! thanks for participating. 🙂

  2. June 20, 2008 12:38 pm

    I love both of those flowers~especially the first one! I am with you on the f-word-lol! I love the name change. 😉

  3. June 20, 2008 1:32 pm

    i miss the smell of citrus.
    When we lived in California, our apartment was near a small orange grove.
    How i loved the smell of orange blossoms!

    Now, we live near pear orchards whose blossoms are not very odorous.
    There are the irises and hay and all that- but their scents don’t compare to that of orange blossoms.

    …like pears and oranges…

    Lovely photos.

  4. June 20, 2008 1:48 pm

    Oh my gosh, those are incredible. I don’t think I’ve ever seen these flowers. My grandfather had amazing gardens, but his specialty was roses. Gorgeous pics, Windy!
    Annie

  5. June 20, 2008 1:54 pm

    That is a gorgeous breed of flower. And I like the “feminine” touch on F-F-Friday!!!

  6. June 20, 2008 2:37 pm

    mmm. mock orange flowers sound awesome! I’ve never heard of them before, but beautiful to look at and beautiful to smell makes them seem about perfect!

  7. June 20, 2008 5:05 pm

    Randomability, did you like how I wrote, “I can’t commit to that,” and then I did it anyway? LOL!

    Mercedes, thanks! Hehehe, normally I like an f-word here or there, but not in this post.

    c, thanks! I’ve never smelled a real orange blossom because I’ve not been around an orchard, but it must be heavenly.

    WriterChick, thanks! My dad doesn’t grow but one rose bush. I’m glad I can share with everyone the varieties that he does grow. Their property is so beautiful.

    Saintseester, yay! I’m happy to have your approval of my adjustment to what you started.

    Deb, yes they are perfect. Their petals are so soft and feminine.

  8. Lofter permalink
    June 20, 2008 5:19 pm

    Your photographs are simply stunning. I love how you work with flowers… careful not to upset their natural beauty, but simply to let it flow through your lens. Great work! Your Dad must have an awesome garden! (The smells are enough to make me want to visit!)

    As for the F word… I’ve got one you can include, as it’s something I need on a daily basis: Forgiveness.

    Have an especially fantastic weekend! 😀

  9. June 21, 2008 11:52 am

    Thank you, Lofter! After reading your comment about forgiveness, I am singing a Tracy Chapman song in my head. I hope your weekend is fantastic too.

  10. June 21, 2008 3:21 pm

    Yup! LOL!!! Post when you can. It’s all good fun!

Comments are closed.

