Skip to content

A Gentleman and His Soup

June 17, 2008

Whereas before he would turn the spoon upside down and dribble the soup into his lap, my son is now transitioning into a more gentlemanly way of consuming his soup. He understands that he has to keep the spoon level as he takes it into his mouth. He thinks celery, scallions, and tofu are yummy, so I count that as a blessing and prepare this soup often.

. . .

. . .

The recipe for this soup is on the lid of the Westbrae Natural brand of miso paste.

a tiny bit of olive oil
one small scallion, thinly sliced
half a stalk of celery, thinly sliced
2-3 cups of chicken stock or vegetable broth (I use a combination)
2 spoons full of miso paste
a bit of tofu, cubed

In a medium saucepan, saute scallion (the white bulb of a green onion) and celery in olive oil until they begin to turn translucent. Add broth and simmer for 4 minutes. Add miso paste (to your taste) and stir to dissolve. Add cubed tofu and simmer for 10 more minutes.

It is a delicious soup! Enjoy.

. . .

7 Comments
  1. June 17, 2008 10:26 am

    He is just too precious! Bless him~he is gonna be there awhile-lol

  2. June 17, 2008 12:03 pm

    LOL. Yes, he eventually asked for help and I gave it to him. That’s the paradox of being little: you want to hurry and “get down” but you don’t have the motor skills to be able to hurry.

  3. June 17, 2008 6:38 pm

    Miso…yum! And what a little gentleman!

  4. June 17, 2008 11:31 pm

    Oh my goodness he is so adorable!!!

  5. June 18, 2008 1:20 pm

    I have this weird thing about me that I love to watch little kids eat. It is so cute. They’re trying to master their motor skills and they’re just so sweet looking. I’m wondering when my kids will develop some sort of quirk cuz I’m always staring at them while they eat and giggling. Isn’t it fun to watch them develop a new skill?

  6. June 18, 2008 2:02 pm

    Oh the hair cut is fab! Cute little man! Precious!

  7. June 19, 2008 1:30 pm

    mom quixote, princess edamame and canvas grey, thank you so much!

    Chris, it is sweet and fun to watch. I hope not to cause any complex by being interested. 🙂

Comments are closed.

