Skip to content

My home away from home

June 16, 2008

I got home from my trip on Sunday a little disappointed that I didn’t have more photographs to help explain what it was like. I’m intimidated by having to describe it with words rather than photos. I will have to start slowly. So, first I will show you where we stayed while we were students at the Davidson Alumni Summer College.

Duke Dormitory has been remodeled and is looking great. What was the back is now the front. It is close to the library, the student union, and the football field. The first floor has meeting rooms, a kitchen, and the Dean Rusk International Studies offices. We stayed on the second floor. I didn’t have a roommate, but some married couples were taking the class and stayed together in the dorm rooms. I shared a bathroom with a married couple. I loved the sparseness of the room and being by myself. Out in front of the dorm there are some beautiful trees with very intriguing bark.

I’m going to try this newfangled “gallery” way of including photos in my post, just to see what that’s all about. It looks like you’ll be able to leave comments on the photos themselves, so that could get confusing, but let’s branch out and try new features, shall we?

2 Comments
  1. June 16, 2008 11:14 am

    I tried the newfangled way of commenting on a picture~the dormitory!

  2. June 16, 2008 11:27 am

    Thanks for boldly going where no one had gone before, Mere. 😀

Comments are closed.

