Skip to content

Gone to Carolina

June 13, 2008

I tricked y’all by setting some blog posts to publish themselves automatically in my absence.  I am actually in North Carolina and don’t have but about 15 minutes to use the computer.  That’s why I am sorry I won’t be able to reply to your comments just yet.  Thanks for keeping the home fires burning!

I drove down here to Davidson on Wednesday for the Alumni Summer College.  The four day course is titled Insurgency and Counterinsurgency.  I am having a great time in these classes, meeting some really nice folks and challenging myself academically.  There are alumni from graduating classes spanning seven decades!

My mom lent me her car and sent some CDs with me.  On the trip down, I listened to music by James Taylor.  My favorite nostalgic songs for traveling to North Carolina are Carolina In My Mind, Country Road, and You Can Close Your Eyes.  (That’s a lullabye I would sing to my children if I could.  Have you heard it?  I am incapable of singing that song without a big lump in my throat and tears in my eyes.)

5 Comments
  1. June 13, 2008 2:30 pm

    Have a super duper crazy fun and educational time FW 😀 Hope you learn a lotta and meet a lotta peeps. I’ll just keep talking to myself until you can comment back teehee

  2. Lofter permalink
    June 13, 2008 6:53 pm

    What a cool idea! Enjoy the trip, and share a little about the insurgency when you return!

  3. June 13, 2008 10:31 pm

    Have a great trip! I love James Taylor too. I love “Hard Times”, which he sings on Yo-Yo Ma’s Appalachian album…

  4. June 15, 2008 7:34 pm

    That sounds like a great opportunity, and a fun mini vacation. Hope you tell us more about these classes when you get back!

  5. June 16, 2008 2:56 pm

    Chris, the people taking the class were awesome. I had such a good time getting to know them!

    Lofter, it was a cool idea, made even cooler by the presence of veterans in the classroom. So we didn’t feel like we were in an ivory tower. There was a little of that feeling, but we were humbled by their accounts.

    Rebecca, James Taylor is excellent. I’ll check out that song you mention.

    Deb, it was both of those things that I had wanted: learning and vacation. So valuable!

Comments are closed.

