Skip to content

Closet Organization

June 11, 2008

Back when my daughter had this huge double closet to herself, I could spread her clothes all the way across the hanging bar. There was a lot of space for one little girl’s toys and clothes. But when my son was born, he got the right side of the closet and she got the left side. So now their clothes seem squished together. And the toys, oh the toys, there are so many now! Getting ready to make this closet functional for two children involved deciding how to best use the upper shelf. I bought five of these red boxes to get us organized. I labeled the boxes wipes, media, potions, treasures, and linens based on the sort of things I would need to store up there.

Just the other day, my husband asked me, “Where are the wipes?” I was like, “Are you kidding? They are in the box labeled wipes.” (To better understand this miscommunication, you might need to know that we were speaking in Spanish, but the boxes are labeled in English. But that’s not an excuse. This is America, so assimilate goddammit!)

The boxes were a lot easier to get down when I didn’t have books between them. These are the books that we don’t read very often: the ones with holiday themes and some of the more fragile ones. I don’t have anywhere to put them because the bookcase is full, yet books keep coming into our home, which is a good thing. Luckily I don’t need to get the boxes down frequently. I just have to get the wipes box down about once every two weeks.

. . .

closet organization

. . .

closet organization

. . .

closet organization

. . .

7 Comments
  1. June 11, 2008 9:31 am

    Holy organized, Batman! Those look great! I won’t be taking pictures of my closets even though they are better than they used to be. Now that kids can take stuff out and (supposed to) put them back theirselves, things aren’t as neat and tidy as I like.

    There’s just never enough room with kid’s toys and stuff is there? I just got (took) my living room back. I was very excited to have it look adult again LOL.

  2. June 11, 2008 12:24 pm

    We need to weed through our toys again and sell or donate them.

    We’ve been reading some of MY old books that I personally read when I was little. Our current favortie is an old text book from school. LOL!!

  3. June 11, 2008 12:38 pm

    Very colorful!

  4. pppj permalink
    June 11, 2008 1:22 pm

    We put the theme books with the decorations. So, all the holiday books are with the holiday cd’s by the Christmas tree ornaments in the box etc… We have Easter books, fall books, halloween books, and we just keep them out during the season and put them away when it’s over.

  5. June 12, 2008 4:26 pm

    Wow, I’m incredibly impressed with your ability to get things organized and make it look nice at the same time! I only wish I was ever that organized! Good job. Maybe your husband is like me – just because you know where something is supposed to be doesn’t mean that’s where you expect to find it! 😀

  6. June 16, 2008 2:30 pm

    Thanks, Chris. Our living room is a disaster. We don’t have a lot of space, so all their ride-on toys are parked there. lol.

    Randomability, it is so sad when a 30 year old book that has survived so well can be destroyed by an innocent (?) little boy. I have to be careful about sharing my books or be prepared to tape the pages back together. Are your children gentle with your books?

    CuriousC, perhaps overwhelmingly so? The doors are shut when we need the room to be more restful.

    pppj, great idea! I will do that once we have storage space like a garage or basement.

    Deb, thanks for the compliment. Certainly, my husband was asking because he needed a quick answer and I was just teasing him.

  7. June 16, 2008 4:35 pm

    They know which books they have to be careful with. I don’t even let them turn the pages and they are stored up and out of reach.

Comments are closed.

