Skip to content

Change and Adjustment

June 7, 2008

Two days ago I was with my mom looking at car seats on-line. I saw that the Britax Marathon was only supposed to be used until the child weighs 40 pounds. Our daughter weighs 39 pounds. I panicked and forgot that we have a Decathlon, not a Marathon, so I was thinking that our children would have to switch car seats. When I told my husband about it, we agreed that it would be a good idea for them to switch. That way our son, who weighs 28 pounds, could use the car seat that is designed for smaller children. Our daughter could sit in the Recaro Young Sport that is designed for children weighing up to 80 pounds. I had to uninstall, adjust, and reinstall both seats. It was in 90 degree heat out in the parking lot when I was figuring all of this out. I was looking at the manual to see how to thread the straps in the Britax and realized that it was a Decathlon, good for children up to 65 pounds. *sigh* We had already told them that they would be switching. So, even though it didn’t matter, they did switch.

This was before:

. . .

Britax Decathlon and Recaro Young Sport

. . .

And this is after:

. . .

Britax Decathlon and Recaro Young Sport

. . .

My son told me these jokes last night. He really likes to make us laugh and always checks to make sure that he is indeed funny. “Funny, mom? Funny?”

Son: Knock knock, mom.
Me: Who’s there?
Son: The cows are drinking the water.
Me: The cows are drinking the water, who?
Son: The cows are drinking the water, mooooooooooooooo. Funny, mom? Funny?

Son: Knock knock, mom.
Me: Who’s there?
Son: Giraffe.
Me: Giraffe, who?
Son: Giraffe a’ drinking water. Funny, mom? Funny?

Also, since it has been 93 degrees for three days now, we decided to get his hair cut at the local barbershop. He was sweating so much with all that long hair that it was getting pitiful. This barbershop rents space to at least 15 different barbers and stylists. It is always really crowded, but the lines move quickly. I took some photos during the haircut because my son was so cooperative (unlike last time when he screamed the entire time). He was excited (maybe because he knew he would get a Tootsie Pop when it was over). The stylist sprayed his hair with water to begin with. Then she cut it with scissors and finished the edges around his ears and neck with clippers. I couldn’t believe my son tolerated the tickling sensation of those clippers.

It is a huge change! I felt the files in my brain shuffling around to accommodate this new look. I’m still in that phase where I have to force myself to recognize him. When he looked in the mirror he seemed a little shocked too. But he said, “Thank you, haircut” to the stylist as we were leaving.

The photos are in black and white because I told her to give him a “traditional little boy’s haircut” and I think his look is fantastically reminiscent of the 1950’s. It just seemed right for the photos to be black and white.

. . .

haircut

. . .

haircut

. . .

haircut

. . .

haircut

. . .

13 Comments
  1. June 7, 2008 3:29 pm

    Love the new hairdo! 🙂

  2. June 7, 2008 5:06 pm

    Oh, I LOVE his hair! The flip in front is adorable!

    He looks very grown up.

  3. June 7, 2008 7:52 pm

    The b/w photos are lovely! You should put those on your wall. And he looks so handsome with his new haircut — very sharp!

  4. June 7, 2008 7:56 pm

    Thanks, Jenefur! Me too. 🙂

    Kemi, I agree that he looks a lot older now. I forgot to mention that he can reach light switches as of Thursday and he also learned to pedal the tricycle!

    Thank you, Rebecca. We do need to get some photos of him on our walls! I am behind on that.

  5. June 7, 2008 11:38 pm

    His haircut reminds me of those Dick and Jane readers…
    So very handsome.

    Also, i’ve never seen such calm children in car seats.
    You are a lucky woman.

    They always start out with knock-knock jokes.
    Isn’t it funny what they find hilarious? The sounds and the faces they make are just the best in comedy.

    Also, totally off the subject, i stopped reading New Earth. i could not, i don’t know, accept it. i will try again but for now, i’ve put it aside. i will say, though, that reading it really pushed me to read my Bible.

  6. Lofter permalink
    June 8, 2008 12:25 am

    I can certainly relate to the heat… and those parking lot decisions – well, those are only gonna happen when the humidity is above 90%!
    The haircut photos are priceless! And you definitely made the correct call with the B&W edit. Well done! 😀

  7. June 8, 2008 1:37 am

    What cuties you got there!

  8. June 8, 2008 8:25 pm

    so grown up, and yes, very 50’s…like a little Clark Kent! (in the OLD show)
    too handsome!

  9. June 9, 2008 9:49 am

    Christine, yes, the haircut does make him look like Dick from the readers. That is a cute comparison! And, yes, they are usually very good in their car seats. I think they are even more comfortable now that they’ve traded seats. Thanks for your nice comments! You can email me if you want to talk more about deciding not to read New Earth.

    Lofter, thanks! “Parking lot decisions” is a phrase to remember! 😉

    gr8tful, thank you.

    Goldie, thanks for saying that. 🙂 I won’t dye his hair blue.

  10. June 9, 2008 2:46 pm

    Eagds–installing carseats. It has driven me to tears in cars without the LATCH system.

    The haircut is great.

  11. June 9, 2008 10:46 pm

    westwardbound, the LATCH system rocks! I bet a firefighter couldn’t get those seats in any tighter than I did, and it’s all thanks to the LATCH system. We’re so happy with his haircut, but my husband was more than a little shocked when he first came home and saw it. Glad you like it!

  12. June 12, 2008 3:38 am

    I like the haircut photos particularly. That hairdresser nailed the “traditional little boy’s haircut” didn’t they?

  13. June 12, 2008 2:16 pm

    “That hairdresser nailed the “traditional little boy’s haircut” didn’t they?”

    Lucky thing! It is amazing how well some of them can screw that up…

Comments are closed.

