Skip to content

The Perfect Lamp

June 6, 2008

We were on our way to a women’s conference in Lynchburg when the caravan stopped. I was thinking about my children and my husband who were at home. I was going to have to pump and dump breastmilk, and I was already sweating just thinking about it. My husband was going to take care of them for a night while I was with this group of women from our church. At the time we were attending services at the First Church of the Nazarene, and I had been invited to go on this trip to the Extraordinary Women Conference. I didn’t know what it entailed, but I thought it might be fun to take a break and do something different. It was in September 2006.

The women from our church were in three or four cars and needed to stop somewhere and rearrange who was in which car. They stopped at the Rockfish Gap Country Store on Afton Mountain. The women who were in the car with me got excited about the candy at the store, and I saw that everybody was getting out and running to take a quick look inside. I got out and went in too. As soon as I was inside the store I saw The Perfect Lamp.

My children share a room and before my son was born I wanted to decorate their room so that they would both feel comfortable. I had to take down a poster of the Disney Princesses. The theme of their room is based on a fabric that I ordered on-line. It is a circus toile by Covington called Topsy Turvy. The main colors are beige, sage and red. Where the poster had been, I hung a drawing of two brown bunnies framed in dark green. My mom and I made a curtain and a pocket organizer to hang on the wall. I didn’t get the room finished before my son was born. I still want to refinish the dresser and it has been more than 2 years!

Anyway, back at the country store, I knew I had to get that lamp and I only had a few minutes to decide what to do. I had some cash to spend at the conference, but I made the decision to spend my money on the lamp instead. The other women thought I was a little crazy. They were eating fudge and laughing that I had a bunny lamp in my arms. They didn’t understand that this lamp had existed in my head for nearly a year and the price seemed reasonable! So, in about five minutes total, I had gotten out of the car, gone into the store, seen this lamp, bought it, and gotten back into the car.

When I got home from the conference and put the lamp on top of their dresser I was really happy with my decision. This sage bunny looks exactly like the one in the toile fabric. Their room needed soft lighting for nighttime stories and I had found The Perfect Lamp.

. . .

sage bunny lamp

. . .

sage bunny lamp

. . .

12 Comments
  1. June 6, 2008 8:13 am

    It does match perfectly AND you have a great story to go with your adorable bunny. What do those women have left of their fudge? Thats right… nothing. I would call you the smartie out of the group.

    Personally, in that store, I would have been perusing the wine section LOL. Maybe not appropriate for a church outing but useful none the less.

    The frogs in the pattern reminded me of those Frog & Toad books. Remember them? I liked them when I was little.

  2. June 6, 2008 12:55 pm

    The bottom pic looks like the bunny is doing his (or her) business.

  3. June 6, 2008 5:25 pm

    Chris, it was the first time a lot of them had ever met me so it was weird because they were all about the fudge and I was all about the lamp. I saw on their website that they have wine, but we didn’t have any time to look around when we were there. It is a huge store so I didn’t even see the wine section. The characters in the fabric do have that same look as Frog & Toad. How perceptive of you. πŸ˜€

    Johnny, *snort* you’re right, it does. (How perceptive of you. lol.)

  4. June 6, 2008 6:59 pm

    You’re right.
    That is the perfect lamp.

    i’ve always loved les lapin.
    My girls’ room is a manga nightmare- but they love it so, yeah.

  5. June 7, 2008 7:39 am

    That is a great lamp! What great luck that you were able to find it so unexpectedly too. And I agree with Chris – you have something that you love and that reminds you of that trip, something that will last a long time. Fudge is everywhere, that lamp clearly was the special item!

  6. June 7, 2008 9:46 am

    I love your blog’s name, too!!!

    And what a darling lamp!

  7. Lofter permalink
    June 7, 2008 2:03 pm

    You are amazing! Do you have any idea how special you are? How unique? You’re husband is truly a very lucky man! Of all the wives I’ve had, there hasn’t been a single one who could walk into a store, spot an item they wanted to purchase, buy it, and be finished and back in the car inside of five minutes! Outstanding! You have single-handedly smashed another of my myths of womanhood!
    And the lamp… whether the bunny is ‘doing his business’ or not, if you love it, then it’s perfect! Good job! And I agree with the previous comments – those women who laughed while they ate their fudge… after they had all ‘done their business,’ they had nothing left but the memories of (and generally the associated guilt for, and worry about how much bigger it was going to make certain physical attributes) some fudge.
    *sigh*
    The things women will pass by in their rush to chocolate heaven…
    You made an excellent choice! Well done! πŸ˜€

  8. June 7, 2008 7:33 pm

    Christine, that is the first time someone has written anything in French on my blog. I had to look it up. πŸ˜› Thanks for broadening my horizons! Well, I think I will let them have more of a say in the decoration when they are older and we will most likely end up with a manga nightmare room too. But I still have 10 years to enjoy the bunny lamp, right?

    Deb, thanks for the affirmation!

    Mom Quixote, thank you for coming to visit. It is fun to meet someone who thinks like me, and titles her blog like mine. πŸ™‚

    Lofter, there was an alignment of the universe thing happening that day, but I’m not always so good. Don’t give me too much credit for the quick purchase! Like I said, it had existed in my head for at least 10 months before the day I found it in a store. Thanks for the sweet comment.

  9. lesbiansaidwhat permalink
    June 8, 2008 12:50 pm

    I think I’d wake up in the middle of the night and forget I had bought the lamp. As a result I would scream in fear that I was being stalked by a bunny.

    C

  10. June 9, 2008 10:05 am

    LOL. I guess everyone’s fears are unique. I hadn’t thought that the bunny would elicit screams, but okaaaay.

  11. June 9, 2008 11:18 am

    I love the bunny lamp! I have a thing for rabbits ayway, I just love them.

    I got an e-mail from your mom extending an invitation to us to come stay at their house when we visit polyface. This is really so sweet of you and your family, thankyou so much. πŸ™‚ See you in July!

  12. June 9, 2008 11:31 am

    Great Kristin! I am excited to meet you and your husband. I knew you would appreciate the lamp. πŸ˜›

Comments are closed.

