Skip to content

Green Thumb

June 5, 2008

My dad is known for his ability to grow beautiful flowers. He also has great intuition for arranging them in vases. When there are flowers blooming in his yard, he makes a bouquet for the hall and one for the kitchen table. I love when I walk in the door and their home smells like lilacs or peonies. He also makes a flower arrangement to take to church on Sundays and one to take to school. When he was a high school teacher, he would start seedlings in egg cartons along the windowsill of his classroom. It would have been mistaken for a biology classroom when it was actually a math classroom. I remember a poster on the wall that explained the mathematical properties of plants: the number of petals per flower and the repeated patterns in nature. It does help me appreciate math when I look at plants and flowers (because I am not a “math person”).

These are some photos that I have taken of flowers in his yard. There are day lilies, irises, rhododendron, clematis, weigela, and so many others.

. . .

orange day lily

. . .

purple striped iris

. . .

rhododendron blooms

. . .

clematis

. . .

weigela blooms

. . .

8 Comments
  1. June 5, 2008 12:17 pm

    Beautiful pictures! I can only manage day lilies at this point in my life. I’m trying to grow into a gardening kind of gal though. Maybe someday, I’ll have a backyard full of wonderful flowers.

    I can’t say I have ever thought about math while looking at them though. Math was often my nemisis. Especially Algebra 2.

  2. June 5, 2008 3:14 pm

    Great photos, especially the lillies, with their beaded petals.

    We are enjoying our snap dragons- which were a little sad last year but have returned quite robust. They are my current favorite. This changes from time to time.

    As far as mathematics- i did quite well with geometry- loved it in fact. i can add and subtract, multiply & divide- which it turns out is all the math i needed to do what i do…

    except help my fourteen year-old with her homework. 😦

  3. Lofter permalink
    June 5, 2008 6:33 pm

    Nice photos, and beautiful flowers! You know, for all the wondrous things men can do, only God can make something as gorgeous and spectacular as these. Well done! 😀

  4. June 5, 2008 10:45 pm

    fractals! I was so excited when I learned about them. heh.

    Those are a whole bunch of gorgeous flowers. My mom is the green thumb in my family, but she tends more towards straight greenery. She decorates quite a bit with plants. It is funny to me for some reason, but then when I made my half-hearted attempt at “decorating” my place, one of the first things I did was get a nice plant. And it really makes a difference! I got a plant for at work too (cubefarms really are horrible), and I swear people talk about that plant all the time.

    Plants are wonderful things. I used to think that I had a black thumb, but now I think that green thumbs can, to some degree, be acquired through learning and experience. And how nice (for both of us!) that we have people to learn from, if so inclined and needed.

  5. June 6, 2008 6:34 am

    Thanks, Chris. Good luck with your garden!

    Christine, oh I love snap dragons too! I don’t know where they are this year at my parents’ house but they used to have some. I will ask about them.

    Lofter, you are right about that. Flowers are really the work of God, not of the gardener. Thanks for reminding me.

    Deb, that’s what they are called! I should have looked it up before writing my post, but oh well. Thanks for helping me remember. Plants do make a difference in making your home or your office more inviting. Does the one at work survive in the fluorescent lighting or does it have some access to a window? My work study in college had the most awful lighting and no windows. It was so depressing, not even a fern could live there.

  6. June 6, 2008 2:57 pm

    Clem-MAT-tis! heehee

  7. June 6, 2008 5:34 pm

    My favorite is the first one: yellow is my fave color! Beautiful photos of beautiful flowers!

  8. June 6, 2008 5:40 pm

    Hee hee, CuriousC! Hey, that rhymes!

    Mere, thanks for the compliment. 🙂 Yellow suits your sunny personality.

Comments are closed.

