Skip to content

June’s Theme is Home

June 1, 2008

. . .

a bird's nest in a cherry tree

. . .

This month, as per the NaBloPoMo challenge, my blog posts will all have something to do with home. I am going to post something, even if it is just a photograph, everyday. My first home (apart from the womb!) was my parents’ house. Lately I am inspired to take photographs in their yard. There was a thunderstorm there yesterday and I got some nice photos of raindrops on flowers. I will share them gradually throughout the month.

After moving out of my parents’ home, I lived on campus at Davidson College. I will be visiting Davidson this month, so I’ll be sure to post about that. After I graduated, I made my home for 3 years in Hamamatsu, Japan. Now I am back at home in the Shenandoah Valley.

The nest that was in the pink car was abandoned. I think the mother, a sparrow, saw us messing with it and got scared. I’m disappointed and ashamed that our discovery of and excitement over the nest was what led to its abandonment. 😦 This other nest is relatively safe, high up in a cherry tree.

. . .

8 Comments
  1. June 1, 2008 12:56 pm

    That is an excellent photo. The nest, the green hands of the tree and that spot of sunlight in the upper left…

    i should check out that NaBloPoMo- even though i failed miserably with ’07’s NaNoWriMo. Only thing is daily blogging is not condusive to my life and i know myself-
    i’ll be obsessed and feel guilty if i don’t comply.

    i believe i will simply enjoy your participation- especially since it will include your photos. πŸ™‚

  2. June 1, 2008 6:37 pm

    Christine, I felt guilty during the month of April too, when I tried to post everyday. I only lasted 10 days. I do really like the monthly themes that help stimulate good posts, so I guess that’s why I am drawn to the challenge.

    Thank you for supporting my effort!

  3. June 1, 2008 7:09 pm

    I participated in nablopomo in november and I managed it, but I can’t say that I felt any kind of real accomplishment!

    The themes are interesting though. Good tool for thinking about things in a wider variety of ways than we might normally.

    As for the sparrow nest, I think they’re pretty fierce little birds. The nest might not be abandoned – if you see either parent stopping by even briefly, it is not abandoned. I don’t think they sit on the nests as much as we imagine they do, at least not all types of birds do! Hard to tell. I am no expert on birds, that’s for sure!

  4. June 2, 2008 8:02 am

    those totally ROCK. great eye, great camera too! I need a better camera.

  5. June 3, 2008 10:22 am

    Holler if you have time to grab coffee or lunch while you’re in Davidson! And I look forward to some great photos and thoughtful posts this month on home.

  6. June 3, 2008 11:32 am

    Deb, I think that is the month that I started reading your blog. My dad had to move the table the toy was on and he made an executive decision about the nest. *sigh*

    Goldie, our camera is decent and fun to use. A lot of times the photos are the results of good luck, but there are several photographers whose styles I keep in mind.

    Rosie, I am going to email you about it. πŸ™‚

  7. June 5, 2008 10:12 am

    This is somewhat random, but my Dad’s side of the family is from the Lancaster area, and I have a metal lard container that was his grandmothers’ that says “Shenandoah Pure Rendered Kettle Lard” on it. So whenever I hear Shenandoah Valley, I think of lard. But not in a bad way. πŸ™‚

    I went to Haverford. I love small PA colleges!

  8. June 5, 2008 10:20 am

    Lard, but not in a bad way. LOL! πŸ˜€

    I thought about going to Swarthmore in PA, but I had more of a connection to Davidson. It’s actually right near Charlotte, NC. People get it mixed up with Dickinson.

Comments are closed.

