Skip to content

WordPress Top Five Posts Meme

May 29, 2008

Brian says that he is addicted to stats. I think blog statistics are neat too, so I am going to participate in this meme that he started. If you want to participate, please link back to his post.

. . .

fighting windmills top posts

. . .

My Peruvian Recipe page is my top post, which I am very happy about. I first created that page on October 10th and I have updated it as recently as this week! I am learning to take better photos and I am tweaking the recipes. Please check it out if you like cooking.

My second best post is the endorsement of Ron Paul that Joel Salatin did for me. I called him at home and asked him if he was a Ron Paul supporter. He said that he was, so I tried to facilitate having his endorsement posted on Ron Paul’s campaign website. He sent it in to headquarters in Alexandria and the person in charge of endorsements was going to take care of it. It “got lost in the mail” and never went up onto the website, so I emailed Joel and asked him to just email it to me so I could post it on my blog. When I published it, the Daily Dose linked to me and Lew Rockwell’s blog linked to me so I had my best day ever as far as stats go. I was doing the cabbage-patch dance a lot that day.

My third most looked at post is my About page. That’s nice of you all to care so much “about” me. 🙂

The fourth most looked at post is about Ani DiFranco and Petah, her daughter. I never expected that post to attract so many hits. I just threw it together, and it doesn’t make me proud at all to have written it. I guess since there is so little on the internet about Petah, people who are interested find what I wrote about her using search engines.

The fifth most popular post is a repost I did of someone’s comment on The Daily Dose. I thought it was a great list, and Hawk promoted it with Tumblr and Del.icio.us (dang you, Hawk!). I don’t usually use networks or feeds or other nifty ways of promoting what I publish, so this was a shock. It got a lot of comments because people were so pissed off. I don’t know what the deal is with all those pissed off people. But I let them have their say and didn’t take anything personally.

Two of my blogging friends have requested help today. Mrs. Metaphor has requested that folks take a few moments to vote for her sister’s band so that they will have a chance to perform at Lollapalooza. And Ann has requested that folks take a few moments to visit two blogs, so that the blog owner can have a new “best day ever” on her stats pages. Thanks!

. . .

4 Comments
  1. May 29, 2008 10:13 am

    Very cool!! Now, how did you do the screen shot? I’ll do this too, but my numbers are very small!

  2. May 29, 2008 12:46 pm

    Doing a screen shot is so easy (if you have windows and the paint program). Read about it here .

  3. May 29, 2008 2:55 pm

    Thank you so much to linking to my post, we were successful and have replaced A.M.S.’s “best day ever.”

    I took a look at my stats, and the top page is the page for my husband, since links to his old blog are now redirected there. I’m trying not to feel too bad that he’s apparently more popular on my blog than I am.

  4. May 29, 2008 3:13 pm

    LOL, Ann! Outshone by your husband, eh? Sometimes taking a look at your stats can give you the wrong idea about your self. I just realized that I wrote “linked to me” instead of “linked to my post”. Am I really still having this identity crisis? Blog = Self? It happens. You are most welcome for the link. I am glad to be of some help to your friend. 🙂

Comments are closed.

