Skip to content

Nature Study Photo Series

May 25, 2008

. . .

japanese maple against blue sky

. . .

tulip poplar tree

. . .

orange iris

. . .

blue iris

. . .

pink iris

. . .

yellow iris

. . .

wild rose buds

. . .

a bird's nest inside a toy car

. . .

a bird laid her eggs inside a toy car

. . .

a fuzzy leaf

. . .

asparagus growing straight

. . .

curly asparagus growing twisted

. . .

an insect on rye grass

. . .

stone statue angel planter purple flowers

. . .

stone planter with purple flowers

. . .

my dad and son in the field

. . .

12 Comments
  1. May 25, 2008 11:54 pm

    Those photos are beautiful! I like the first one best. It makes me think of the perfect summer day– sitting under the shade of a tall tree and reading a book, taking a nap or just enjoying the sun.

  2. May 26, 2008 12:34 am

    i love sunlight shining through leaves.
    These photos are just lovely. It’s nice to know that the sun is shining somewhere!

    i also love the irises-
    especially the purple ones,
    the brilliance of their colors.
    And when the start dying end of summer- oh the scent of their dying! Such a pretty odor.

  3. May 26, 2008 8:32 am

    Beautiful! I especially love the one of your father. Hope you guys are doing well.

  4. May 26, 2008 8:24 pm

    mmm. I love the asparagus! Was that growing wild?

    I took a tour on long island once, with “wild steve brill” who took us on a walk around a park and helped us to identify the wild growing edible plants. It was so cool! Of course I don’t really trust myself on my own, but things like asparagus would be pretty clear!

    I started my garden recently. Now I wish I had planted some asparagus! 😀

    Next year…

  5. chineseambassador permalink
    May 27, 2008 12:57 am

    those are gorgeous!!

    Question – what is that one in the barbie jeep? It looks like a nest? And I can’t tell, but it sort of looks like a snake in there, which totally freaked me out. Please tell me it’s a baby bird.
    😉

  6. May 27, 2008 9:43 am

    Kemi, thank you! I like that one too.

    Christine, I agree about the scent of dying. How poetic!

    Logan, thanks for commenting. We are all well.

    Deb, my dad always lets the asparagus go to seed naturally, so every year it comes up again. It is within the borders of his garden, so not exactly wild, but not exactly cultivated either.

    CA, thank you! In the pink toy car there is a sparrow’s nest with four unhatched speckled eggs. Isn’t that the silliest place to make a nest?

  7. Kristine Balasic permalink
    May 27, 2008 10:35 am

    Dear Sarah,

    These photos are BEAUTIFUL! You really have a talent and eye for God’s color, creation and capturing detail! Thanks so much for sharing it with me! We are doing well…very busy and no baby news. I’m resting in God regarding this….I’d love to see more of your pics, so please let me know when you have more!! Thanks for sharing!

    Smiles,
    Kristine

  8. May 27, 2008 2:32 pm

    FW, You ABSOLUTELY have talent girl! I just think the nest and egg photos are AMAZING. I also favor the single flower pics. Just beautiful! I saw the blackberry bushes on our trip; they are over flowing with flowers…I want to come back and pick them!!!!

  9. Robert permalink
    May 27, 2008 4:19 pm

    Nice work! It looks so peaceful.

  10. May 27, 2008 6:07 pm

    LOVE IT! Crazy asparagas! I, too, thought that was a snake in the pink car. I so love iris flowers…

  11. May 27, 2008 8:08 pm

    I really like the last pic!!

  12. May 28, 2008 11:04 am

    Kristine, thanks for visiting my blog! Your family is often in my thoughts. Be well.

    CG, thank you for encouraging me.

    Robert, it is really peaceful there. I enjoy being close by and visiting when we can.

    CuriousC, we were shocked to find a nest in there. We were going to play with it, but had to change our plans!

    Thanks, Brian. I was so far away that it turned out fuzzy, and I hesitated to even post it. I need to learn more about taking photos, but I am glad that you like it!

Comments are closed.

