Skip to content

Text Widget Triumph

May 19, 2008

Thank you, James E. Lee, for teaching me how to take a screen shot! I love the Paint program and ever since I started this blog I have been wondering about screen shots. I finally learned how to do it today. This is the same “high” I felt when I learned how to upload a clip to YouTube: the feeling of being a geek!

I had what my daughter lovingly refers to as “Green Ron Paul” in my blog’s sidebar ever since I learned how to do text widgets. Whenever she sits down with me at the computer to look at photos or a YouTube video on my blog, she comments about Ron Paul’s greenness. Last week I thought I would take the button away and see how I felt about its absence. So I went to the place in my dashboard that allows me to fool around with widgets. The way the dashboard used to be set up, I could drag a text widget out of my sidebar and save it for later. But now if I remove the text widget, it can’t be saved for later. This is what I know now: when I am going to remove a text widget, I should copy and paste the code into some other program like Notepad and save it (if I think I might want it at another time).

I clicked “remove” and it disappeared, and all of its code disappeared. I figured if I ended up wanting it back, I could just go to grist.org and recover the code. But, alas, they have removed the code from their blog button page. The Ron Paul blog button is apparently vintage now or something.  WTF? So, since I don’t give up easily and I remembered that someone clicked on the button on February 2nd, I went to my record of “clicks” and I saw that the identification number is 847 for Ron Paul’s button. I am so glad that seemingly random stats like that are kept for a long while in my dashboard since having access to the stats was what enabled me to get my button back.  February 2nd was this blog’s best day ever (because of this post), and out of 1038 hits that day one person clicked on the button. LOL! Pretty pathetic ratio, but anyway, at least the “click” got recorded.

. . .

grist blog buttons election 2008

. . .

Up above is my first screen shot so that I can show you the code I modified.  I proceeded to copy the code for the Clinton button, make a new text widget and replace “clinton” with “paul” and “id=790” with “id=847” so that I could once again display Ron Paul’s face in an attractive shade of green. It worked! I rule the world! I mean, uh . . . now you can have this button in your sidebar too.

. . .

13 Comments
  1. May 19, 2008 6:14 pm

    You are amazing! Thanks for figuring all that out! As my youngest would say, “Hey, nice brain ya got there!”

  2. May 19, 2008 10:56 pm

    LOL!!!

  3. May 19, 2008 11:43 pm

    *blush*

  4. May 20, 2008 12:00 pm

    you go girl!

  5. May 21, 2008 6:16 pm

    Not just a hat rack, my friend. Congrats on the technological dominance. I did feel sweet when I figured out how to load videos onto YouTube too. So liberating. Learn more and then you can teach me 😀

  6. May 21, 2008 7:16 pm

    lol ya geek! hooray for green ron paul.

    so, since you are such the techie, maybe you can teel me why your sidebar is soo different than mine but we both have wordpress. is it the theme you chose? I would love for my “recent posts” and “recent comments” to be able to list more.

  7. May 21, 2008 7:47 pm

    Never mind, I figured it out ALL BY MYSELF. Booyah!!! I now FEEL THE POWER OF TECHNOLOGICAL DOMINANCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. May 22, 2008 2:16 pm

    gr8tful, thanks! 😉

    Chris, let’s not mention how long it took me to get your joke. LOLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!

    Goldie, awesome! Great job for figuring it out by yourself. It took me many moons to figure out how to list more comments and posts in the sidebar (on the old dashboard). I like looking at everyone’s purty avatars.

  9. May 22, 2008 11:00 pm

    lol. I hear you on the joy of feeling geekishly accomplished! I always laugh because I’m not very tech-savvy, despite being a software developer! I always have to find people to help me when I can’t get my app server running, etc. Seriously, I had no idea I’d have to mess with servers and databases when I went into this field – the logic is sweet when it comes to code, fighting with the tools drives me crazy.

    I recently took it upon myself to learn some web design stuff – xhtml and css – since the web pages we have are absolutely horrible to maintain (nested tables! the horror!), yet I know (or at least, knew) little of any of it. There was no one else at work who was any better off though.

    And yesterday I figured out something I’d been struggling with for weeks. Something I didn’t actually believe I’d find the answer for. And then it worked, and I wanted to do a victory lap. But my coworkers think I’m crazy enough as it is, so I just emailed a friend my excitement instead.

    So anyway, excellent job figuring it out! YouTube videos are still tough for me – I figured out, after much hassle, how to compress the videos, but they look like crap. Clearly there are better ways! Which yet remain a mystery to me.

  10. May 23, 2008 8:37 am

    Thanks! thank you for the advice on the paint idea, too.

  11. May 23, 2008 1:45 pm

    Deb, thanks for the reassurance. I am always willing to dance or do a victory lap with a friend in celebration of technological dominance. The dominance is so fleeting; it should be celebrated in the moment! I don’t know how to prevent a clip from looking like crap on YouTube. I just use Windows Movie Maker and save it in the resolution “for playback on my computer” as recommended. They turn out so-so.

    CuriousC, you are most welcome! I hope you have fun playing around in the Paint program. It may make uploading your images easier, and it will certainly cut down on the amount of space each image takes up on the server.

  12. May 24, 2008 3:40 pm

    Wow, I’m astounded that you knew where to look to find the code. I never would have thought of that and where the heck did you find it? Sometimes I feel so clueless about this stuff. It really is a victory when we conquer a tiny little piece of geekdom though, isn’t it?
    Annie

  13. May 24, 2008 11:40 pm

    WC, the first time I found the code for the button was back in the fall on grist.org’s site. I noticed then that all the code was the same, only the name and the id number had to be modified for it to change from one candidate to another. So I guess it was just luck that the id=847 “click” was in my blog stats so that I could piece it all together.

    I feel clueless about technology too, but since I started my blog, I pay attention to coding whenever I have to opportunity (like with text widgets) because it is so interesting how everything works.

Comments are closed.

