Skip to content

Helmets for safety

May 17, 2008

. . .

bicycle tricycle toddler helmets

. . .

bicycle tricycle toddler helmets

. . .

bicycle tricycle toddler helmets

. . .

bicycle tricycle toddler helmets

. . .

Our apartment building’s parking lot accumulates rain water in a huge puddle. It’s fun for my son and daughter to ride through the puddle and leave wet tire tracks on the pavement. My daughter started out in a skirt. When her skirt got wet, I changed her into shorts. We just got her a new bicycle on Thursday, so she is getting used to how big it is compared to the tricycle. My son wants me to push him around, but he hasn’t learned how to pedal yet.

Right after I took these photos, they got tired of practicing pedaling and decided to just play around with sticks and leaves and rocks in the parking lot. I took their snazzy helmets off, and my son soon fell headfirst into the puddle. I am laughing out loud just writing about it. It was so funny how his long hair was dripping in his face. He wasn’t hurt. He was laughing just as hard as I was. (Too bad I don’t have photos of that.)

. . .

13 Comments
  1. May 17, 2008 10:39 am

    That looks like SO much fun!!! The story of your son falling in the puddle is really funny. I can imagine him standing there, spluttering, then giggling uncontrollably.

    Your kids are going to have so many fun memories!

  2. May 17, 2008 3:05 pm

    Kemi, yep. He kept saying, “Water. Hair. Water. Hair.” It was hilarious. πŸ˜›

  3. May 17, 2008 4:09 pm

    When I take the kids in the bike trailer, they ALWAYS wear a helmet too. We’ve been haing lots of fun. πŸ™‚

  4. May 17, 2008 4:13 pm

    That’s awesome that you all have a trailer! We saw one of those in the bike shop and the young man that helped us said they were getting really popular.

  5. May 17, 2008 4:59 pm

    Here’s the post i just did. It’s on my other blog LOL!! I’m a two blog blogger. Well, three if you count myspace…

    http://accountablility.wordpress.com/2008/05/17/bike-trailer/

  6. May 17, 2008 5:11 pm

    Very nice! My daughter wants to know when she can ride in it (you’ll have to pull her ’cause I’m not in shape). πŸ˜€

  7. May 17, 2008 8:01 pm

    How about next week? LOL!!

  8. pppj permalink
    May 18, 2008 10:51 pm

    FW,

    Thanks for the laugh! I bought a trailer years ago from a garage sale, but I bet you could try Craig’s list to look for one in the area.

  9. May 19, 2008 12:34 am

    Your kiddos are so adorable!

    How fun! i love bike riding and we have great bike trails here in Southern OR.

    Happy belated Mother’s Day to you.
    i find you to be an awesome parental unit. i mean, look at those helmets, girl. πŸ˜‰

  10. May 19, 2008 11:16 am

    Randomability, I wish!

    PPPJ, thanks for visiting! I hope you had a great mother’s day! I’m not really going to get a bike trailer. I don’t even have a bike. But there is this great clip in a Teletubbies video where a little boy named Ned rides in a bike trailer, and my children recognized what it was when they saw it at the store. You know how we love Teletubbies!

    Christine, thanks for saying that! The helmets are a trip, aren’t they?

  11. May 24, 2008 1:52 pm

    Too, too cute! Thanks for sharing your kids with us! And yup, that woulda been a moment to catch on film for sure, the head in the puddle–glad your son can laugh at that stuff!!

  12. May 24, 2008 11:42 pm

    Julia, just last night in the bathtub he reenacted it on purpose. He dipped his bangs into the water and let the water run down his face. LOL.

  13. March 5, 2010 1:22 pm

    Ha i feel sorry 4 the little guy. Woz the puddle muddy? How deep woz it? My daughter did the same but in a pond! She cried at 1st but she laughed it off afta we dried her off and put her a clean diaper on.

Comments are closed.

