Skip to content

Letter Y for Yummy

April 30, 2008

. . .

April 2008 NaBloPoMo

. . .

Two of the best fragrances of late April are lilacs that grow in my parents’ yard and southern-style iced tea, sweetened with sugar. Sure, you can get sweet tea from Bojangles or McDonald’s year-round, but when you brew it at home you can enjoy the smell of steeping tea bags and you can sweeten it to your taste. The fast food restaurants must use corn syrup as their sweetener because it just isn’t the same as homemade. Plus, if you drink iced tea “out of season” it just isn’t right. We’ve already had our first day of 80 degree weather, so my husband and I decided to declare the official Iced Tea Season in our home. These are some of the photos I wish were scratch and sniff so that I would be able to share how yummy the fragrances of lilacs and iced tea are.

. . .

Lilacs and Iced Tea

. . .

purple lilacs

. . .

10 Comments
  1. April 30, 2008 11:02 pm

    Yummy is right! I want to jump right through my computer screen to smell and taste. If I close my eyes I can almost smell the lilacs..but you are right, there is something special about homemade sweet tea!

    Thanks for stopping by to visit me today!

  2. May 1, 2008 12:38 pm

    Thank you, extraordinary mommy, for returning the visit. 😛

  3. soupisnotafingerfood permalink
    May 1, 2008 9:56 pm

    Oh, you are killing me with the lilacs. We had several bushes growing up and they are my favorite. Where I live now, it’s a wooded, shady lot, with literal herds of deer tramping through, so I haven’t tried to grow any lilacs. I did, however, threaten to sneak up to the neighbor’s bush under cover of darkness and “helpfully prune” a few of the errant lilac branches. You know, as a FAVOR.

    Lovely photos, too. Note to self: learn to take good photographs.

  4. May 1, 2008 10:11 pm

    Oh yes! Definitely trim those errant branches. 😛 Thanks for coming over to comment.

  5. May 2, 2008 10:21 am

    MMmmmmmm those lilacs are just beautiful!!! I wish I could smell them through the computer. Thank you for the offer– I will talk to my hubby about it– we are always up for free/cheap places to stay! :O)

  6. May 2, 2008 6:40 pm

    Hey Windy!
    I love lilacs and unfortunately, they are very rare where I live. Having grown up in the midwest, they were everywhere and there is no scent like lilacs on a warm summer evening – I could almost faint thinking about it. And iced tea – yes, home brewed and strong – sweating glass, ice cubes clinking. Ah…dont you just love summer?
    WC

  7. May 3, 2008 11:05 am

    Kristin, I’m glad you like the photos. Let me know what you want to plan after you talk to him.

    WC, I love this time of year! Thanks for your nice comment. 😛

  8. May 3, 2008 11:50 pm

    Those lilacs are gorgeous!

  9. Hawk permalink
    May 13, 2008 8:05 pm

    FW, Genki Deska? Thanks for the shout via Email. I’ve been slammed with my new business and haven’t had time to go to the bathroom; well, not exactly because that would pose an altogether set of difficulties which I won’t bother to expand on.

    I’ll be back shortly with posting on a more consistent basis. I’ve missed visiting and commenting as much as I enjoyed posting.

    Thank you for being my friend. We’ll engage soon, I promise.

    Hawk, Out!

  10. May 14, 2008 2:51 pm

    Hawk, thanks for coming by. I’ll look forward to a new post on your blog sometime soon.

Comments are closed.

