Skip to content

Letter U for Update

April 28, 2008

. . .

April 2008 NaBloPoMo

. . .

Wow, how I dislike thinking about my blog on the weekends. It is torturous. I am very off-track for completing the NaBloPoMo challenge this month. This post will just be an update.

I’ve started drinking Kefir. I feel a rush of good feelings and healthy energy when I drink it. It is like a yogurt drink, but it is a little thicker and has a stronger taste. It has probiotic cultures and an impressive amount of protein. The label claims, “Originating in the Caucasus Mountains of Europe where people live well past 100 years, the word kefir is thought to have been derived from the Turkish word ‘keif’ for ‘good feeling,’ probably due to the sense of well-being experienced after drinking it.” Try it and see if you don’t feel much better!

On Saturday I got to see my brother and sister-in-law who came to visit from North Carolina. We had a really good time, especially my daughter. They played hide-and-seek in our apartment. It was too funny watching her look right over the sofa where my brother was hiding under a blanket. She looked in the closet, in the shower, in all the corners. There are not many hiding places in our apartment, but somehow she was stumped. And she loved not being able to find him. Her face was just glowing with excitement!

On Sunday we went to my parents’ house and celebrated my dad’s birthday. The weather was gorgeous and the tones of green in the trees and grass were too. My son discovered ants outside. It was fun to see him pay so much attention to them, like he was studying them. After lunch we had cake and ice cream. We took some cute photos.

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

. . .

One Comment
  1. April 28, 2008 3:08 pm

    Kefir! I got a culture to make some of that stuff, but haven’t done it yet. I’m glad to hear it’s good. We’ve been drinking kombucha, which is a russian fermented (non-alcoholic) tea. It’s supposed to be super-good for you, too. Anyway, I have the recipes for both in this awesome cookbook you might like called “nourishing traditions” by Sally Fallon (there is a link to it on my blog under favorite books). You can also get kombucha at whole foods if you want to try it. :O)

Comments are closed.

