Skip to content

Letter O for Orgasms

April 20, 2008

. . .

April 2008 NaBloPoMo

. . .

If I ever sent in a postcard to PostSecret it would be this:

. . .

Tears by Man Ray

. . .

For me, this reality isn’t even a secret, but since (shhhhhhhhhhhhh . . . ) female masturbation was taboo in 1932, I like to think of this woman (never mind that she is a mannequin) sending in a postcard. She’s frustrated and annoyed with her lover. She longs for orgasms that aren’t accompanied by tears. She wishes that he would let her climax without interrupting her and making it awkward. She resents his needs. When she’s alone, her orgasms are beautiful because she is imagining herself with another woman.

When I was in love for the first time, I was in college. I gave my boyfriend a notecard with this photograph (minus the message I’ve added here) on the front. I don’t remember what I wrote inside the card.

. . .

8 Comments
  1. April 20, 2008 6:54 pm

    I love it! You have it ready~so go for it and send it in! Let me know when you do! 😉

  2. April 21, 2008 12:22 am

    i love postsecret.
    Your caption is hilarious, sad and deep.
    Because i think we could rock so much if people weren’t in our way.

    i love your analysis.
    Insightful.

  3. April 21, 2008 10:01 am

    WOW, now that is something to think long and hard about!

  4. April 21, 2008 9:40 pm

    Wow! That was so deep, it turned me on a little 😉

  5. April 22, 2008 11:21 am

    Your comments are making me laugh! Long? Hard? Deep?

  6. April 22, 2008 4:15 pm

    😉

  7. April 29, 2008 10:35 am

    Oh, my. very VERY good.

  8. April 30, 2008 4:25 pm

    Thank you CuriousC. I actually thought of Wilhelmina when I made this postcard because supposedly Man Ray didn’t use a live model, he used a mannequin! Though, she sure looks real to me.

Comments are closed.

