Skip to content

Letter N for Nothing

April 18, 2008

. . .

April 2008 NaBloPoMo

. . .

This post is about nothing, the Nothing to be more specific.

The NeverEnding Story was one of the only movies I saw as a child. I didn’t ever watch movies at home, but at my best friend’s house I remember seeing Winnie the Pooh, Robin Hood, and the NeverEnding Story. I used to daydream about naming my son Bastian because even though I was only about seven years old I was already thinking about baby names. I remember I had nightmares about “the Nothing,” a force that destroys hopes and dreams. I would spend a lot of time thinking about how it would be possible for matter to be destroyed. I’m so bad at physics, I even failed a physics class at Davidson, but I was thinking about the conservation of mass as a seven year old. Well, truthfully I was thinking more about fantastical quests and shaping my quixotic outlook on life. What a great movie.

. . .

11 Comments
  1. April 18, 2008 8:30 pm

    It’s one of my husband’s favorites, too. I have to admit, I had a crush on Atreyu. (Wait, was that the horse? I had a crush on the warrior.) And I thought the Princess was beautiful. I wanted to be her.

    The dragon-dog thing scared me. Especially when he growled at those boys, right at the end. Now I think he’d be useful… no rush-hour traffic, plenty of room for each kid to have his own space… heavenly.

  2. April 19, 2008 1:28 am

    The Neverending Story and The Dark Crystal- man i lurveredly loved those two films.
    i watched them eleventy thousand times.
    i loved watching -Story with my older daughter for the first time.

    She loved it.
    Two weeks ago we watched Better Off Dead.
    i still love that one. i still laugh when Ricky’s mom drinks kerosene then lights up.

    “God bless ’em-”
    KABLAM!

  3. April 19, 2008 12:42 pm

    Kemi, I watched the movie last night after I published this post. I was thinking how comfortable the dragon-dog would be as a mode of transportation.

    christine, I’ve not seen those other two movies. How old was your daughter when you first let her watch the NeverEnding Story?

  4. pppj permalink
    April 19, 2008 1:55 pm

    My 8 year old watched Neverending Story last year, and LOVED it. My six year old isn’t afraid fo much so it would be interesting to see if she would like it. I guess it matters on what they watch – I think if your kids can handle Scooby Doo, and Wizard of Oz you’re okay with it. Those flying monkey’s still freak me out from the Wizard of Oz.

  5. April 19, 2008 3:17 pm

    Kemi, I had a crush on Atreyu too! And his horse was Artax. You all are making me feel all nostalgic for my childhood. We had like 3 whole movies on BETA and Neverending Story was one of those. I only watched it like, oh, 1,000 times.
    LOVED Dark Crystal too.

    Better Of Dead I did not see until I was a teenager. “TWO DOLLARS! I WANT MY TWO DOLLARS!”

  6. April 19, 2008 8:01 pm

    Some of my most vivid nightmares were inspired by the NeverEnding Story. I had nightmares about the wolf and the rockbiter and of course about the Nothing.

    LOL Goldie, I think the version I watched as a child was on BetaMax too.

  7. April 20, 2008 12:22 am

    i think she was ten. She liked it. And we watch it every time it comes on television- which is not often. The second one was bootsy, i think. You just can’t improve on something like that, or add on. Besides, it was THE Neverending Story. That means that it was enough.

    The Dark Crystal is puppets- a Jim Henson movie. Speaking of wanting name children after movie characters when we were mere children ourselves, i wanted to name my daughter Kyra after a character in The Dark Crystal. (i need to buy that movie! i haven’t seen it for years.)

  8. April 20, 2008 5:09 am

    I loved “The Dark Crystal” too. I haven’t let my kids see it yet, although their uncles have tried to change my mind. And hold clandestine viewings. 😀

    I’ve had several people comment that my youngest daughter looks like a Gelfling. Before that, she reminded people of a Precious Moments character. Apparently, I don’t have children– I have cartoons. And puppets.

  9. April 20, 2008 6:59 pm

    I had a dog named Sebastian.
    Kemi~clandestine: brings back memories 😉

  10. April 21, 2008 10:06 am

    I love the movie too. I think fantasy and nightmares go together to get our creative juices flowing. When I was younger I always imagine a hole at the center of our galaxy because what else would cause us to spin. I love to think!

  11. May 3, 2008 11:58 am

    This post brings back memories. I loved The Dark Crystal and The Never Ending Story too. And I had to laugh when I saw Mercedes’ comment. I had a dog named Sebastian too.

Comments are closed.

