Skip to content

Letter I for Incorrigible

April 10, 2008

. . .

April 2008 NaBloPoMo

. . .

Invade
Iraq, Iran.
Interventionist:
International Instigation of
Insurgents.
Indoctrinate, Inculcate, Intimidate, Ingrain, Instill
Insidious Ideology.
Internalize Imprisonment and Internment.
Incredible, Inexcusable, Inflated
Incorrigible Industry.
. . . . . . . . . .
Independent
Individualistic
Informed
Investigative
Intelligent
Involved
Invested
Inspired
Influential
Interconnected
Internet-users.
Imminent Impotence.

I thought of the words for this poem last night in my head. Now that it is in print I am surprised and delighted that it took the shape of a torch. This form of poetry is called concrete poetry. Subconsciously, I was thinking of the Olympic torch or the Statue of Liberty’s torch. Either way I’m pleased with the visual image.Β  Let me know what you think. Are there suggestions for improvements?Β  Is it insufferable?

. . .

21 Comments
  1. Rick Toone permalink
    April 10, 2008 3:07 pm

    Irrepressible instructional insurgency.

  2. April 10, 2008 3:50 pm

    I also neglected to mention “insightful” and “innovative.” Thanks for commenting, Rick!

  3. pppj permalink
    April 10, 2008 10:24 pm

    Actually, it looked a bit like a cross when I read it the first time.

    Very nice indeed – Gerarld Manley Hopkinds would be pleased indeed!

  4. April 10, 2008 10:29 pm

    Thanks, pppj. I thought it did have some subtle religious symbolism in there too. I am looking at it again and I see a scepter, like the leader of an evil empire would have in his or her hand.

  5. April 11, 2008 1:09 am

    The keyboard is mightier than the Neo-Con imperialist narrative. Bravo!

  6. April 11, 2008 2:17 am

    That’s cool how that worked out!

    Happy Birthday! Hope you have a great one! I have you a little present at my place:
    http://mercedesrules.wordpress.com/2008/04/11/happy-birthday-message/

  7. April 11, 2008 8:34 am

    I love it! very cool. and IMPORTANT.

  8. April 11, 2008 12:01 pm

    Ooooh, “imperialist” was a word I should have incorporated. Thanks, Johnny.

    Mercedes, πŸ˜€ Thank you! You too!

    CuriousC, thanks a lot. I’m glad you think so.

  9. April 11, 2008 3:06 pm

    I could use lots of those I words to describe you FW, the good ones only of course, this is incredible and you are intelligent. Hugs, Deb

  10. April 11, 2008 3:09 pm

    This was really cool! I also like that the two parts are so similar in some ways, at least some of the words are when looked at individually, but when each part is felt as a whole, they’re radically different. Very interesting! I’ll have to come back and read it again. πŸ™‚

  11. April 12, 2008 6:33 pm

    Very cool FW! But where is J & K? Are you a slackin? I know… who am I to judge.

    Changed my theme for you. I hope you likey better. And when was your birthday? Why you not tellin folk?

  12. April 12, 2008 7:47 pm

    It reminds me of a microphone – but it cool how you made a picture with words. Neato.
    WC

  13. April 12, 2008 8:21 pm

    Where are you at? Hope all is well! You must still be celebrating your birthday-lol!

  14. April 13, 2008 11:19 pm

    LOL! Yeah, I got kinda bored of posting everyday. Where are J and K indeed. πŸ˜†

    A microphone, wow, that would be a cool image to associate this poem with too. Thanks for mentioning that, WC.

  15. April 14, 2008 6:40 pm

    My post is dedicated to you to day,mi querida amiga .

  16. April 15, 2008 12:07 am

    Mrs. Windmills, did you read the Ron Paul article at Reason.com? Another smug dismissal from the cats who were co-opted to torpedo him. Off topic I know, but I did not know who else to tell.

  17. April 15, 2008 9:32 am

    Very cool, love the imagery and how it connects to the words which represent an ideal, a full circle.

  18. April 15, 2008 11:20 am

    Gracias, CG!!

    Johnny, what is the link to the article that you wanted me to read? I went to reason.com but nothing caught my eye.

    Thanks for commenting, bookbabie!

  19. April 15, 2008 4:43 pm

    http://reason.com/news/show/125959.html

    Wiegel is a putz.

  20. April 16, 2008 2:26 pm

    Thanks Johnny. I agree with your assessment. You live in PA, right? Did you get to see Dr. Paul?

  21. April 16, 2008 2:58 pm

    No. I have never met Ron Paul. I have only seem him on the television and on video clips that I access through my computer. He is a very wise man who recognizes that the political status quo of deceit and corruption, if unchallenged, will relegate us to perpetual bondage and misery.

Comments are closed.

