Skip to content

Letter E for Eggs

April 6, 2008

. . .

April 2008 NaBloPoMo

. . .

Today is the sixth day of the NaBloPoMo challenge and my “letter e” post features eggs. These are Polyface eggs that I bought at the Natural Foods Store, just down the road from where I live. They are also sold at a few other local markets, through a co-op, or directly from the farm in Swoope.

. . .

eggs from Polyface hens

. . .

They are imperfect in a way that takes getting used to. There are sometimes tiny feathers on a few of them, or some freckles. Sometimes one out of the dozen is noticeably larger or smaller than the others. Also because they do not go through a candling process, sometimes there is a small spot of blood in the yolk. It grosses me out. And the chalazae are much more noticeable than in eggs from the grocery store (this means they are fresh; it is not witchcraft I have to assure myself). I am trying to be a respectable journalist here and share with you both the good and the bad of these brown eggs. (egg information)

They are not as fragile as the white eggs we used to buy from the grocery store. Their shells and membranes are much stronger. That means they don’t crack in boiling water and are a little easier to peel. When I make a pan of brownies, I use three eggs in the recipe. They make a delicious difference in the consistency of the brownies and also do really well in pancakes! My daughter loves to say “flapjacks” because that’s what Little Bear calls them. She helps me stir the batter.

Although the price of eggs in grocery stores has doubled recently, the price of eggs from Polyface has not. I started buying them in December and they still are $3.59 a dozen in April. So, yes, they were more expensive to begin with, but they are not susceptible to market forces. They cost what Joel Salatin figures they should cost in a free market economy.

For more information on Polyface Farms, please take a look at these other posts on my blog:

Until the system cannot sustain itself

Joel Salatin’s endorsement of Ron Paul

Polyface Photo Series (with photos of the hens)

. . .

eggs from Polyface hens

. . .

One Comment
  1. April 11, 2008 3:07 pm

    awesome photos my dear…you are so talented!

Comments are closed.

