Skip to content

Letter D for Davidson

April 4, 2008

. . .

April 2008 NaBloPoMo

. . .

Today is the fourth day of the NaBloPoMo challenge, and it’s time to brag about my alma mater, Davidson College. It was at Davidson where I nourished my love of languages, taking two trips abroad, majoring in Spanish and minoring in Asian Studies. To me, a Spanish major is like an English major because you are studying literature and history and culture and philosophy, only the classes and the material are not in English. My senior year in high school, AP English was my favorite class and I loved taking the SAT II (now called a Subject Test) in Literature. I knew how my brain worked, and I had the privilege of going after a Bachelor of Arts degree at a liberal arts school.

Here are some other blog posts I have written about Davidson College:

The Speech Code

Davidson in Peru

Border Culture

Alternative Spring Break

Now, let’s talk about what the men’s basketball team has accomplished this year!

. . .

Davidson basketball fans

. . .

The sign says, “I know where Davidson is, but where is Kansas?”

What a quixotic way to end the basketball season, making it into the top 8 NCAA teams.

One of my favorite parts of being a student at Davidson was watching the men’s basketball games. My family has a special connection to the team and to Coach McKillop because my brother started going to summer basketball camp there when he was only 10 years old. Each summer he would spend a week on campus, receiving instruction and mentoring from the players. We grew up knowing their names, admiring their skills and their ability to live so far away from home yet still do well academically.

As a student, I played trumpet in the Wildcat Pep Band and attended every men’s basketball game. My brother kept the statistics and made a video recording of each game. He sat on the bench with the coaches and attended their practice sessions to help out with drills and behind-the-scenes work.

I was thrilled to attend round one of the NCAA tournament as a student and member of the Pep Band. And this year the team did so much better than that! They were part of the “Elite Eight” and lost to Kansas by only 2 points in the last seconds of the game. What an awesome team! I am so proud of you guys!

Here’s a video tribute featuring the fight song, the song “Sweet Caroline,” and lots of clips and photos from the 2007-2008 season:

. . .

. . .

3 Comments
  1. April 4, 2008 1:29 pm

    I forget about you going to Davidson. I have watched them play basketball with Jedd. My brother went abroad twice while he was in College. He went to Uruguay and Spain.

  2. April 4, 2008 8:28 pm

    I’m glad you like the NaBloPoMo badge! Great idea doing letters of the alphabet 🙂 I also love the name of your blog.

    Best of luck with April!

  3. April 5, 2008 11:59 am

    Thanks for coming over to visit, Melissa! The badge you made is excellent. Thanks for the encouragement!

Comments are closed.

