Skip to content

Egg Hunt

March 24, 2008

. . .

finding a blue Easter egg

. . .

the Easter bunny and her basket of eggsSince my daughter dressed up as a pink bunny for Halloween, I asked her to wear the costume again for our egg hunt on Easter Sunday. She agreed that it would be a shameful waste of a bunny costume not to get it out and wear it again. Of course seeing his sister’s face painted made my son want paint on his face too, so he has some random spots on his cheeks and a puppy’s black nose. He patiently cooperated as I painted his face at the kitchen table with the colors he chose.

Outside, it was cold and a bit windy, so the egg hunt was done in a hurry, but they were excited to find eggs amongst the daffodils and periwinkles in my parents’ yard. My mom had hidden a few Skittles in each one, so the eggs were fun to rattle.

The egg hunt was competing for time and attention with the Davidson College basketball game, another reason we hurried back inside. My parents and I really wanted to watch the game and my children really didn’t want to. We took turns entertaining the children while the game was on and somehow we all had a great time.

. . .

10 Comments
  1. March 24, 2008 2:04 pm

    Cute bunny – HEY! What are you telling that child?! Just kidding. and GO DAVIDSON, Sweet indeed. I love it when the underdogs win.

  2. March 25, 2008 12:43 am

    Did you ever stop to think about why the church embraces the bunny easter egg symbolism? Since it is representative of pagan Earth-cult emerging harvest/fertility belief systems, why is it willingly included in a Christian house of worship?

  3. March 25, 2008 4:07 am

    I love the face painting!

  4. March 25, 2008 8:50 am

    Glad you had a good day for the hunt, too much snow here, the eggs got buried 😦

  5. March 25, 2008 10:50 am

    CuriousC, I think I am telling her that Spring is when we celebrate fertility. Flowers, bunnies, baby lambs, eggs . . . seems like a valuable lesson. Thanks for being happy for the underdog Wildcats!

    JP, I don’t know why the church has egg hunts on the front lawn except that since the worship of cyclical spring rebirth already existed, the resurrection fit in nicely into that belief system. They seem very intertwined.

    CG, thanks!

    bookbabie, sorry to hear about the snow, but did you have an indoor hunt for your granddaughter?

  6. March 25, 2008 12:44 pm

    AWE! They are so, so cute! I am so glad you all had a great time!!

  7. Goldie permalink
    March 25, 2008 3:48 pm

    JP– Christians have to live in this world, so we find ways to incorporate the old into the new. we adapt. plus there can be a lot of knowledge to be gained from old traditions, Christian or not. I personally would not want to live in a sterile Christian bubble.

  8. March 25, 2008 10:51 pm

    BEAUtiful little ones! Kinda makes me miss that age with my own kids… 😉

  9. March 26, 2008 8:23 pm

    How absolutely adorable!! 🙂

  10. March 26, 2008 9:08 pm

    They look like they’re having a great time! Your daughter’s missing tooth looks cute, by the way! I know it was a trauma to lose it, but the effect is extra cuteness.

Comments are closed.

