Skip to content

Baggage claim bonus

March 18, 2008

Waiting on Sunday at the Dulles International Airport, I was observing my travel-weary children running around the Continental baggage claim carousel. I saw a chauffeur holding a sign that said, “Arrojo” and I thought that name sounded familiar. A few minutes later, my husband had not yet appeared, but I recognized Nick Arrojo and went over to talk to him. He was very nice and we talked about hair. I thought to myself, “that’s lame to talk about hair with a hair stylist,” but he was in such a great mood so the conversation was fun. He was in the Washington area to teach. He was dressed in tight black jeans and black boots with fierce pointed toes. Getting to meet and talk to Nick was a baggage claim bonus! I excused myself to chase after my son and daughter and suddenly my husband came jogging over to us. I didn’t get any photos with Nick, but I did get this cute one of my family!

. . .

my family at the airport

. . .

7 Comments
  1. March 18, 2008 9:22 pm

    I guess I didn’t realize you were so close to this area! Or maybe Dulles is quite a hike for you but was still the best airport for you to fly to and from Peru?

    I’m sure it is great to have your husband back and your little family complete!

    I have to admit I’m completely clueless as to who Nick Arrojo is! Someone famous?

  2. March 18, 2008 9:30 pm

    He does the hair makeovers on that TLC show “What Not to Wear.” We live about 2 hours away from the airport. It’s good for international flights. This spring/summer if we go to DC for monument sightseeing we should plan to meet up!

  3. March 19, 2008 9:40 am

    Too bad I moved away from that area almost 7 years ago! Hope all is well!!

  4. March 19, 2008 1:19 pm

    I never meet anyone famous. How cool to meet Nick Arrojo. I like him a lot. I’m a What Not to Wear junkie.

  5. March 19, 2008 7:59 pm

    I LOVE Nick Arrojo. I also LOVE What Not to Wear…and TLC! I wonder what he was doing in the area.

    FW I did not realize you lived so close to me. I am 30 mins to 1 hr away from Dulles (depending on traffic).

  6. March 19, 2008 8:41 pm

    gr8tful, thanks for checking in on me. 🙂

    Lisa, if I am remembering correctly, I think he is one of the only famous people I have ever talked to. It was great!

    WhiteyMcWheatbread, I like to watch What Not to Wear. And the haircuts are my favorite part. I know what you mean about the traffic. Sometimes our trip is 2 hours, sometimes it is 3 hours!

  7. rosiemolinary permalink
    March 23, 2008 6:00 pm

    How fun that you were able to meet Nick Arrojo (who I totally love) and happily welcome your husband back! The picture of the family is so sweet!

Comments are closed.

