Skip to content

Irreconcilable

March 16, 2008

. . .

my son, asleep in my bed

. . .

Is this the same boy who drew on my bedroom carpet with my $22 Estee Lauder lipstick? Yes, yes it is. The lipstick smelled really good when I was trying to clean it up. In stark contrast to the smell of an apple juice induced explosion poop that I was cleaning from the living room carpet on the same day. Two stains in one day, right before my husband is coming home, and my goal was to have our apartment clean and in order. I can’t reconcile that with the photo.

11 Comments
  1. pppj permalink
    March 16, 2008 9:18 am

    Oh he is gorgeous!

    I hope you were able to relax at night – perhaps a tirp to the store for some new lipstick is in order

  2. March 16, 2008 2:08 pm

    They’re lucky they’re so cute, huh? Great picture, by the way, he really looks so sweet.

  3. March 16, 2008 2:14 pm

    What a great picture!

    I guess you’ll have to settle for realistic instead of clean-and-in-order with regards to how the apartment will be when your husband gets home. πŸ˜‰

  4. March 16, 2008 8:19 pm

    What a gorgeous son you have…I’m sure with a face like that, he could not have POSSIBLY been the one who smeared the lipstick ….. πŸ™‚

  5. March 17, 2008 7:49 am

    OOohhhh. ick.
    Funny, I had a carpet mess to clean up yesterday, too but nothing as awful as BOTH of yours… (I had overwatered a plant on an antique dresser and the pool around the rusty wheel thingy on the carpet almost left a scary red nasty stain. all fine now.)

  6. March 17, 2008 11:48 am

    No one THAT adorable could have done something as naughty as poop on carpet or smear lipstick on carpet.

    No wait… I forgot, thats why they can do that stuff without us going insane. Because they are so cute. I think thats why God made puppies and kids so adorable when they are little. So they can live to see another day LOL

    Great picture!

  7. March 17, 2008 7:13 pm

    They are ALWAYS angels when sleeping! Only SOMETIMES when awake! ha Nothing like a four year old (mine) throwing a knock down feet kickin red faced screaming tantrum during a concert at school…this evening…fun, fun, fun. Thank goodness I can still pick him up and carry him away! I’m looking forward to the angel sleeping tonight! ha

  8. March 18, 2008 9:02 pm

    pppj, thank you for your kind comment! There are no plans to replace the lovely lipstick. I’ll just have to do without.

    Ann, that’s exactly what I was thinking; he is lucky that I took that picture that day. Why I oughtta . . .

    Deb, yes, I always have to settle for realistic. It gets frustrating, but thanks for helping me keep it in perspective. The stains will fade with more cleaning. I am not a “blotter.” I am a “scrubber.”

    Sky, I wish there were someone else to blame, but he was caught in the act both times. Now he points at the spots and says, “A mess!” Thanks for commenting!

    CuriousC, that is funny that we were both on the carpet, cleaning stains that day. I’m glad yours turned out fine. Mine still need some work.

    Chris, yes, all is as God intended. I’ve heard the theory before that it’s hard to harm cute things.

    CG, oh no! I’m sorry to hear about the tantrum in public. I think if we use positive reinforcement they are more likely to be angels when awake, but it is a challenge for both parents and children! I have just as much trouble behaving in public as they do! πŸ˜‰ Have you and your son recovered from that incident?

  9. March 22, 2008 8:23 am

    Just glad you didn’t include photos of the carpet for us to try reconciling. πŸ˜‰

  10. March 22, 2008 5:16 pm

    Yes I’m glad I didn’t include photos of that either!!!!!!

  11. March 26, 2008 8:27 pm

    You take beautiful photographs. And the explosion poop description is hilarious!!

Comments are closed.

