Skip to content

My loss of computer privileges

March 8, 2008

. . .

. . .

If you share your computer with a preschool-age girl, you might not want to ever do a search on YouTube for “Disney Princesses” because there are so many results that the preschool-age girl will not want to let you use the computer ever again. There’s like a sub-culture of YouTube directors who put together these video collages of the princesses. Some of them, like this one I chose, are very creatively done. Don’t watch it if there’s a preschool-age girl nearby and you’re not prepared to deal with the consequences. 😉

. . .

10 Comments
  1. March 8, 2008 4:17 pm

    FW, it’s not just pre-school girls….I didn’t even click on your youtube link because of my daughter and she is 8! 🙂

  2. ara0062 permalink
    March 9, 2008 12:46 am

    I always liked the disney princesses myself growing up. To this day, I can sing nearly every work of Sleeping Beauty. It was may faaaavorite 🙂

  3. March 9, 2008 9:47 am

    I misunderstood. I thought people had attached NC-17 dialog. You just meant that little girls watching the video would be hooked.

  4. March 9, 2008 10:37 am

    Right, the consequence is just that the little girls will realize the awesomeness of the “related videos” feature on YouTube and you will be caught in a time-sucking cycle of princesses.

  5. pppj permalink
    March 9, 2008 10:12 pm

    You know watching all the princess’ together – I never thought of Lady from Lady and the Champ as a Princess, but gee she was a pretty dog.

    Do they seem half-naked to you? I mean geez – I like them too, but when you see them all together what is up with the almost always naked Jasmine, and Ariel? I don’t know, but my goodness.

    I can see why little boys would be hooked on this as well.

    LOL

  6. March 10, 2008 9:00 am

    Yes, some of them are definitely almost naked and even the ones in long dresses are sexually objectified. It’s something worthy of confronting and discussing, but in our family we don’t boycott them. We focus on the life lessons and point out the stereotypes and try to get a feel for how our daughter is interpreting (internalizing) them.

  7. March 10, 2008 5:44 pm

    Well, they’re objectified, but they are also largely being sought after by a gentleman (or a Beast), so it kind of fits. At first, I wasn’t sure why you wouldn’t want your kids watching this – it didn’t seem offensive at all, and the song was harmless enough – but I get it now: the time sucking thing.

    But it sure makes me glad I have a boy!!!

  8. Goldie permalink
    March 13, 2008 1:50 pm

    Too late on the you-tube hogging here. I made the mistake of showing my pre-school son a you-tube Thomas video. Now all he wants to do is watch trains on the computer!! Quite a little sub-culture of people making their own episodes with their train sets! He can sit there and happily click and watch FORVEVER! I just have to be nearby…the occasional “REVENGE OF PERCY” will pop up! lol

  9. March 13, 2008 9:13 pm

    Thomas trains are on YouTube? Thanks for the warning, Goldie! That means Princess Edamame and I do have to watch out! “Revenge of Percy” sounds funny. I’m going to go look that one up.

  10. Goldie permalink
    March 14, 2008 3:22 pm

    You HAVE to watch this one…it is my son’s fave. too adorable!

Comments are closed.

