Skip to content

Knock Knock

March 8, 2008

My daughter loves telling knock knock jokes and she’s usually pretty good at slightly modifying them and retelling them with her own style. I’ve shared some “classic” ones with her like the one that ends, “Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?” So, apparently my daughter didn’t “get” it because she made up this new version of it. Here goes:

Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Cantaloupe.
Cantaloupe who?
Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Cantaloupe.
Cantaloupe who?
Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Cantaloupe.
Cantaloupe who?
Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Cantaloupe.
Cantaloupe who?
Knock knock.
Who’s there?
Watermelon.
Watermelon who?
Watermelon, are you glad I didn’t say cantaloupe?

15 Comments
  1. March 9, 2008 9:40 am

    I’m sure I did the same thing to that joke when I was little. But, I think that got more laughs than telling it correctly. 🙂

  2. March 9, 2008 10:46 am

    We were in the car last night when she told that joke, and I had to control my laughter in order to keep the car on the road! First of all, I couldn’t believe she could remember the word cantaloupe from the summer. Second of all, I previously thought she had made the connection that “orange” and “aren’t” are supposed to be interchangeable in the joke. But, she has no clue that orange is the verb. She just thinks she can substitute any fruit!

  3. March 9, 2008 1:20 pm

    My kids have both been saying that joke now too. It’s pretty funny to hear the 2 1/2 year old say (and I’m only doing her part here):

    “Kock knock”
    “Orange”
    “Nana!” (insert giggling here!)

  4. March 9, 2008 2:00 pm

    Oy…yeah, this is a favorite ’round here as well. It’s USUALLY followed by “get it???? you get it????” and then uproarious laughing on the joke teller’s part. To which I almost always reply, “don’t quit your day job, kid.”

    I love it.

  5. March 9, 2008 3:31 pm

    We just had lunch with my cousins and my children tried out their knock knock jokes on them. It was great! My son, who just turned 2, was trying to get in on the attention with his cat joke.
    Knock knock
    Who’s there?
    Cat
    Cat who?
    (knee-slapping belly laugh; no punch line needed)

  6. March 9, 2008 6:43 pm

    I love them too!! How’s it going? HUGS!!

  7. March 10, 2008 12:11 pm

    I love when kids tell jokes. It’s adorable and hilarious in a different way. Emma just told us a knock knock joke like that too.

    Knock, knock
    Who’s there?
    Underwear
    Underwear who?
    Gross!!!!! You said underwear!!!

    Love ’em

  8. March 10, 2008 12:58 pm

    Chris, that’s cute! She doesn’t know that she said it too! 😛

  9. March 10, 2008 2:36 pm

    Fun! I DO love hearing what the wee ones come up with. And sometimes, it’s in written form. I just got a sweet note from a little friend and it was signed “Loov, A__”

    LOOV! more loov for everyone.

  10. March 11, 2008 12:59 am

    Our two favorites here:

    “Nick – how does an elephant ask for a bun?”
    Nick, in the deepest voice his 3-year old pipes can muster, and with his arm alongside his head like a trunk: “Gimme a bun, please”

    Also, “Nick, let’s do a knock knock joke. You start.”
    “Okay – knock knock”
    “Who;s there?”
    …stunned, confused silence from Nick, uproarious laughter from the rest of us who can believe he fell for it – again!

  11. March 11, 2008 10:30 am

    knock, knock.

    Who’s there?

    Cockadoodle.

    Cockadoodle who?

    hahahahahahahahahahaha. Get it? Get it?

  12. Susannah permalink
    March 12, 2008 11:23 am

    Even though she didn’t “get it” with the orange….I love the fact that she substituted other fruits and made it funny. I laughed out loud!

  13. March 13, 2008 9:02 am

    I just love when kids make stuff up. My two have not started yet but I am looking forward to it!

    My little cousin use to tell wakka wakka jokes…memba those from Fozzie the Bear? I use to LOVE those!

  14. momster permalink
    March 13, 2008 10:40 am

    *giggle* you have made this grandma’s day with these funnies. Ah, fond memories!

  15. March 15, 2008 7:14 pm

    Soo sweet. My son tells it but still gets the banana and orange turned around.

Comments are closed.

