Skip to content

A little lonely

March 6, 2008

Last Thursday, my husband and I went to Lima by way of New Jersey. We used the Dulles and Newark airports. When the plane was landing in Newark we could see New York City in the distance. Right below us we saw a lot of rusty boats and a lot of seriously polluted water. Some of the ponds were phosphorescent.

Ron Paul supporter buttonI wore my “I Support Ron Paul” button on my coat. I had the opportunity to talk to several strangers during my time in the airports and on the planes. One friendly flight attendant read the button out loud and then he said, “We need more of you!” A man in the lobby with a Department of Criminal Justice briefcase said, “Ron Paul supporter, eh? That must be lonely.” Then later on the plane, that same man said since Huckabee has dropped out and Ron Paul hasn’t, Ron Paul must have ego issues. It was nice to be in Lima and not keep up with the news or the blogs. I didn’t even know that Huckabee had dropped out so I just smiled at the man on the plane. Wearing a button is about as confrontational as I’ll get with a stranger.

I am a little lonely, but it’s not because I’m a Ron Paul supporter. It’s because I miss my husband. Our children grew so jaw-droppingly much while we were gone. My husband got emotional on the webcam at his sister’s house today because he thinks he’s missing out on watching them play and hearing them sing and dance. I guess that is the downside of traveling and leaving the children behind. We had not experienced it before.

15 Comments
  1. March 7, 2008 9:34 am

    It does not matter to me that RP is dropping out, I will still write him in on election day. I am sure many others will do the same. I cannot remember another time where the two “establishment” candidates (Hillary and McCain) were so similar and unloved by their respective bases.

    Viva la Revolucion!

  2. March 7, 2008 4:48 pm

    http://www.takimag.com/sniperstower/article/paul_campaign_comes_to_an_end_i_think/

    This article echoes a lot of what I am feeling right now about Ron Paul’s latest message to the people. These campaign updates are like getting punched in the gut.

  3. March 7, 2008 9:42 pm

    Welcome back FW. Sorry you are feeling so down, prayers for you. The one line I take from RP’s latest communication is that the revolution takes time. Maybe he has to take the “founder” position instead of the “first leader” position. Revolutions do take time. There are more people who have their eyes shut than open. Opening eyes takes education and time to learn and grow. I have seen some eyes opening lately, first hand. I think we are in for a major launder (wringing and hanging out to dry) that will shake it all up and hopefully at the end open MOST eyes. It is coming…it is coming…just like hubby will be coming home sooner rather than later. πŸ™‚

  4. March 8, 2008 9:23 am

    Thank you, CG. That’s exactly what I needed to hear from you, friend.

  5. March 8, 2008 2:30 pm

    CG-That is such an optimistic and thoughtful way to put it. Thank you for sharing that. Sometimes we “underdogs” need to hear that it isn’t all for naught.

  6. March 8, 2008 10:23 pm

    Johnny, according to Rand, Ron was speaking to us in code. So he has not dropped out.

  7. March 9, 2008 12:36 am

    What I heard was a concession. Why would he speak in code if he was in this race to win? The numbers do not lie. The delegates are already accounted for. His speech acknowledged his role as the architect and forefather. The mantle must be assumed by the one who will take the torch and run with it. I do not mean to deflate sails, but the reality of the situation is obvious.

  8. March 9, 2008 9:59 am

    I used to laugh when people would talk about the power of the media. However, in this race, I was shocked at how they would blatantly make up information and quash all but their favorites. It didn’t work on me, but looking at the results, I think it really did work on a lot of folks.

    I really liked Huckabee and Paul for a lot of character issues. And the fact that they actually mention what their plans were. “A Change We Can Stand For” is a slogan, only. I need to know what that change is before I’m willing to stand for it.

    Even today on the news, the only Paul supporter they let speak was a nut job talking about how Paul was a magic Ninja and he would just slip into the White House and become President. It was complete with sound effects and motions. Clearly, they have been painting Paul and his followers as nut cases from the beginning. I was shocked the first time I heard him speak. He was clear and concise and sounded like he was fully in control of his sanity.

    When Japanese people want to talk about politics, I give them all sorts of messages of hope, but I usually end with “…maybe in 2012…”

  9. March 9, 2008 10:35 am

    Whoa. A magic ninja, huh? I don’t watch the news, so if it weren’t for you I never would have known. I love watching Dr. Paul speak and will continue to do what I can to support him, but I don’t understand why he wants to quash the enthusiasm of this revolution. The people at Headquarters have some issues which tend to confuse me.

  10. March 10, 2008 12:41 am

    Check out the below article from Justin Raimondo (Antiwar.com) about Ron Paul’s role and purpose in the ’08 campaign. I think he addresses the matter succinctly.

    http://antiwar.com/justin/?articleid=12491

  11. March 10, 2008 8:53 am

    Thanks for the link, Johnny. I was wondering about Raimondo’s reasoning and that explains it.

  12. March 10, 2008 12:06 pm

    I’m a little lonely too FW. Hope your time without hubby goes fast. I’m counting down the days until mine gets to come home. Hope the sleeping schedule is coming along! Give me a holla if you need to vent πŸ˜€

  13. March 10, 2008 12:50 pm

    Here is an interview March 10th with CNN:

    http://www.cnn.com/video/#/video/politics/2008/03/10/intv.ron.paul.cnn

    He says Obama’s anti-war stance is fraudulent and he says anti-war conservatives should continue to vote for him in the primaries and that volunteers should continue to influence the Republican party’s platform locally.

  14. March 12, 2008 9:58 pm

    FW, I am proud of you for wearing your RP button. At least ;you show courage, more than most today to wear your heart on your sleeve and at the Airport where buckoos of people saw you. You go girl! You Rock!

    I tend to think along the lines of CG. She is wise in that she said Revolution takes time and more people have their eyes shut vs open. Education and time to learn and grow. So true. It is so easy to get discouraged now with everything that is happening. But we must not.

    Another commenter said:”I really liked Huckabee and Paul for a lot of character issues. And the fact that they actually mention what their plans were. β€œA Change We Can Stand For” is a slogan, only. I need to know what that change is before I’m willing to stand for it.” I am that way too. I need to know what change is.

    Sorry you missed hubby. Hope now everything is much better.

    Hugs

  15. March 13, 2008 9:01 pm

    Thank you so much, Angie. Wearing the button at the airports turned out to be quite the conversation starter. I never get that kind of response when I wear it around town. People in airports/airplanes are prone to talk to each other I guess.

    As for my husband, he will be back from Peru on Sunday.

Comments are closed.

