Skip to content

A little stressed

February 27, 2008

I’m sorry I haven’t written a blog post in a while. I’ve been feeling like there is a haze over my brain. Everyone in my family is a little stressed and it’s hard to get it into words. We are leaving our children with my parents for 6 nights and going to Lima, Peru. That’s where my husband is from and where his parents and one of his sisters live. Lots of friends from school are also still living in his neighborhood and are anxious to see him after so many years.

We are the godparents of his sister’s youngest son. He is going to be baptized on Saturday and we are hosting the party. It should be fun, especially since our children are not going to be there and I can concentrate on having a good time.

. . .

some of my husband's family

. . .

My husband is one of 12 children and 10 of his brothers and sisters live in Japan. We saw them last year when we went to visit. The other sister that lives in Peru is the one that we will get to see on this trip. My husband and I met in Japan and got married there. Our daughter was born there. We moved to the U.S. when she was around 5 months old and my contract with the JET programme had expired. We have been living in the U.S. for almost 4 years and it has been a little more than 6 years since we have traveled to Peru. A few months after we met, we went to Lima so that I could meet his parents. Since then we haven’t been back.

At the beginning of our vacation in Japan, our children got sick and had a lot of trouble adjusting and understanding where we were and who all those relatives were. (The photo above doesn’t even include everybody. That is a picture of when a lot of us went out to dinner together. I’m on the right with our son on my knee. Our daughter is in the front with the green pants. My husband is behind his mom who is wearing the pinkish-purple shirt.) That was part of the reasoning for leaving them behind this time. We are going to be trying to get so many things done in so few days that it seemed better to not put the children through that.

So, my parents took our children to their house about an hour ago. My husband is finishing up at work this afternoon and we will be packing our suitcases tonight. Our flight is tomorrow. Please be thinking of my husband and me as we travel and keep my parents and children in mind as they spend the next few days “bonding” with one another.

I am looking forward to good music, excellent food, warm weather, and fun times. I am looking forward to a positive attitude, some time for my husband and me, and the chance to get reacquainted with some of my in-laws. I hope I can take a lot of photos and share them when I get back. I am coming back alone on Tuesday, and my husband is staying another two weeks. It is my intention that, by the time he gets back, our children will have a blissful bedtime routine. I think this trip is a turning point for our family and many wrongs will be righted because of it.

27 Comments
  1. FreeFromItAll permalink
    February 27, 2008 4:36 pm

    I’ll be praying you have a safe trip and a stress-free one. Godspeed.

  2. February 27, 2008 4:57 pm

    Have a wonderful, safe, romantic trip! Prayers are with you, hubby and sweet babies; your parents will have a wonderful time!!

  3. February 27, 2008 5:07 pm

    You have quite the international family!! I hope you have a fabulous trip. I think parents need a break from their kids (and vice versa) every now and then. It makes you appreciate them more. I just left mine for 4 days with my parents for a long weekend in Vegas with my husband. We were nervous because we’d never done that before. They were great with Grandma and Grandpa and everyone enjoyed the change in their routine.

    Have fun!

  4. Just someone permalink
    February 27, 2008 9:27 pm

    Best wishes to you and your husband. Prayers for you that this trip is everything you wish it to be.

  5. February 28, 2008 10:57 am

    I hope your trip is great for everyone involved. It sounds like it will be good for you. Will you be able to post at all while you’re gone? I will keep you and yours in my thoughts.

  6. February 28, 2008 7:28 pm

    What a big family! My mom is one of 7 and when we get together with her side of the family, it always seemed like huge gatherings, but that picture tops all that! I’m sure it is a confusing situation for the kids, sounds like you are making a smart decision to let them have some grandma and grandpa time instead of dealing with long plane rides and the confusion and business of a quick trip.

    Enjoy your trip, and of course I hope you take tons of pics. πŸ™‚

  7. gr8brainfarts permalink
    February 29, 2008 10:05 am

    Have a great trip. And relax… it’s much deserved! I’m looking forward to hearing about your travels and adventures when you return. I’ll live vicariously through you! Ciao!

  8. cheeseslave permalink
    February 29, 2008 12:22 pm

    Wow — have a wonderful time!

    PS I tagged you for this meme — don’t feel like you need to worry about it anytime soon. πŸ™‚ xo

  9. gr8tful permalink
    February 29, 2008 3:51 pm

    What a great picture!! You a great lady!

  10. February 29, 2008 6:45 pm

    Enjoy yourself!!! And let us know all the fun and exciting things you did when you get home πŸ™‚ You’ll have a great time

  11. February 29, 2008 9:53 pm

    Hey, here I am in Lima. We had a safe trip down and are doing really well, although my husband choked on his lunch and scared us all. Thanks for all the well wishes and sweet comments. πŸ˜€

  12. gr8tful permalink
    March 1, 2008 2:00 pm

    I am so glad your trip was safe! Have fun and keep in touch!!!!

  13. March 1, 2008 4:22 pm

    Hey Windy,
    I think that melancholy thing is going around. How exciting that you are going to Peru. I’ve heard it is an incredibly beautiful country. I hope you have a wonderful time and get some regenerative zazz while you’re there.

    Big prayers for a safe and happy journey for you both.

    WC

  14. March 2, 2008 2:05 am

    Wow – what an amazing family. Bit envious actually. Looking forward to hearing about the experience when you’re back. Will feel very strange being childless for a time, I bet.

  15. pppj08 permalink
    March 2, 2008 8:17 am

    FW,
    What a scare – the choking part. I am so happy for you – you and your husband get a a chance to re-connect! I am also excited for US. Perhaps you will have a few new recipes to share!

    pppj

  16. March 2, 2008 5:05 pm

    It is strange to be without my children, but the party on Saturday night was so much fun and I was veeeeeeery glad not to have to worry about bedtime. My husband and our nephew were baptized at 4:00 in the afternoon and the party was at my mother-in-lawΒ΄s house. It was great.

    Thanks for your thoughts and prayers. I will bring back lots of photos and some videos to upoad to YouTube and some new recipies!

  17. March 4, 2008 2:01 am

    Hey FW,

    I hope you are having a wonderful trip. I cannot wait to see the pics. The Internets are not the same in your absence.

    β€œOutside the kingdom of the Lord there is no nation which is greater than any other. God and history will remember your judgment.” ~ Haile Selassie

  18. March 4, 2008 8:12 pm

    Okay I’m back, but the memory stick is still in Lima (with my husband since he has a few more days to take more photos). I will try to get back to the internets when the time is right. Thanks Johnny. Now I am left to ponder what you are implying by (randomly) quoting an Ethiopian statesman. πŸ˜›

  19. gr8tful permalink
    March 4, 2008 10:56 pm

    Hey fw! Good to hear you are home! Missed you alot!!

  20. March 5, 2008 1:19 am

    Have a great trip! And I think I can see why perhaps you haven’t posted as much. : )

  21. March 5, 2008 1:49 am

    No reason in particular FW. Although in hindsight, it could be applicable to the Venezuelan/Colombian conflict. There are evil forces being brought to bear in that part of the world (as there is in Kosovo, Iraq, Afghanistan, and other countries).
    The Lion of Judah (H.I.M.) demonstrated incredible courage in the face of evil nations that colluded to suppress human rights and deny people basic fundamental freedoms. He should be remembered as such, that is why I left the quote.

  22. March 5, 2008 9:45 pm

    what a big, wonderful, international family!

    have a great trip – can’t wait to hear about it.

  23. gr8tful permalink
    March 6, 2008 12:42 pm

    Just stopped by to say hi!

  24. March 9, 2008 10:09 am

    Sorry, I haven’t been around much. Got kind of overwhelmed with things. Managed to keep posting on my blog, but reading other blogs and keeping the kitchen clean got put on low priority.

    Good luck with the sleep regulating thing. I hope it isn’t ruined all in one night when your hubby gets home. After all, the kids will be excited to see him.

    “Thanks to the heroic sons and daughters of this country, who have paid sacrifices, we have been able to score a number of victories which are encouraging the nation-building process we are engaged in.” – Girma Woldegiorgis

  25. March 9, 2008 10:30 am

    LOL another quote from an Ethiopian??? What did I do to spark this? Thanks for coming by, Bikkuri. I know you are a very busy person. I have discovered that it’s not my husband’s fault that our children don’t go to bed at 8:00. 😦 My parents could do it (make the children get into bed) during the week they were in charge, but I haven’t been successful. I admit I was wrong about who to blame!!!

  26. globetrotteri permalink
    March 9, 2008 11:12 am

    What a gorgeous family! Have a safe and speedy journey and a wonderful time.

  27. March 9, 2008 9:45 pm

    I saw the reaction from the first Ethiopian quote, so I just had to find another one to add. What a mature attitude you have about the bedtime thing. I’m sure there will be some resolution.

Comments are closed.

