Skip to content

Overheard

February 20, 2008

. . .

My son is starting to play games where he smashes two toys into each other; he revels in both the conflict and the resolution. He has action figures that he uses occasionally, but his favorite toys for this game are trains and a big yellow bus. He also loves to perch toys on the edge of the sofa and make them fall to the floor in slow motion. Then he swoops in and stages a rescue. The bus often comes to the rescue. It’s so cute that I want to record it (you know you want to see it on YouTube), but if he notices that someone is watching (and sometimes I laugh out loud) he will stop doing it. The best I can do for now is to transcribe what I’ve overheard:

“Oh, choo-choo train! Oh no! Stuck! Oh gosh, choo-choo train! Oh no, TomΓ‘s! Uh-oh, bus! Oh, bus! Get it! Oh, I got it! I got you, bus. Oh! Uh-oh, toothbrush!” (repeat)

. . .

13 Comments
  1. February 20, 2008 5:50 pm

    I know exactly what you mean about a camera ruining a moment instantly.

    Toothbrush? Kids are so funny.

  2. February 21, 2008 1:55 pm

    Allison, thanks for commenting! Yes, my son’s word of the week is toothbrush. He just learned to say it and is very proud of himself. πŸ™‚

  3. pppj08 permalink
    February 21, 2008 2:39 pm

    This brought back memories.

    My former ‘smasher’ is now 12 and would rather smash himself in a hill while skiing than play slow-motion..

    ah…the days….

  4. February 21, 2008 3:41 pm

    I am right there with you FW! My son loves playing with anything this way… trains, cars, markers, just his hands. He is hilarious while doing it and I’ve tried so many times to video it only to have him look up and yell NO! at me. It’s like they have a 6th sense about it. Silly stinkers

    Isn’t it so cute how boys play so different than girls? It cracks me up.

  5. February 22, 2008 11:41 am

    My daughter does this with any two things she has available. Sometimes it is two toy vehicles sometimes it is two french Fries, and sometime it is her two pointer fingers. On top of the weird but funny ramblings like your son does FW she also says things like “aww so sweet” while making them kiss or hug, “my friends” while making them hug or “my family” while making them hug. I have wondered if she needs more social interaction (not that she doesn’t have Pre-school and a sibling and a couple of friends) ha ha ha.

  6. exemployee permalink
    February 23, 2008 1:24 am

    my little boy is twenty-two years old and he still loves to smash things. Hide the car keys!

  7. gr8tful permalink
    February 23, 2008 1:54 pm

    Just stopped by to say hi and I pray you have a great day!!!

    Winnie/pooh&tigger2!!

  8. February 23, 2008 9:46 pm

    Love it!

  9. February 24, 2008 12:52 am

    I have 2 grandsons, age 4 and 9, smash and noise is their game! I think exemployee is on to something . . . little boys grow up to be big boys. LOL!
    These are moments to cherish, they will grow up before ya know it. πŸ™‚

  10. February 26, 2008 9:14 am

    PPPJ, I love skiing. Maybe my son will too!

    Chris, it is funny how different they are in their mannerisms. πŸ™‚

    Whitey, my son does that too. He caresses Thomas after smashing him into the other trains and coos over him.

    exemployee, yikes! Thanks for the warning!

    gr8tful, thanks for coming by and for the well wishes!

    unbeelievable, I love your stories of observing toddlers as well!

    Angie, thanks for the reminder. I do cherish him and moments spent watching him so much.

  11. gr8tful permalink
    February 26, 2008 3:27 pm

    How’s it going? I know you have something very special in store for you my friend!

  12. March 9, 2008 10:13 am

    Clearly he is a true hero. True heroes don’t rescue falling trains for the glory, they do it for the honor; hence, he is shunning the media attention. πŸ™‚ Certainly, recording a falling toothbrush rescue would be shameless promotion: he’ll never let you get that on camera.

  13. March 10, 2008 1:22 pm

    Shunning media attention. That’s a nice way of putting it. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

