Skip to content

Six Word Memoir Meme

February 19, 2008

I was tagged with the Six Word Memoir Meme the day after having come across the concept and been struck with the inability to think of one for myself. I read about the concept on christine’s blog and told her how hard I thought it was going to be, and then Lilli went and tagged me! *sigh*

Just six? Can’t I have seven?

Officially, I tag Bikkuri, Ann at Tragic Optimist, Mindi at The Queen Mum, Jocelyn, and Karrie at Mom Voyage. Unofficially, if you want to tag yourself, please do.

1. Write your own six word memoir

2. Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration if you’d like

3. Link to the person that tagged you in your post and to this original post if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogosphere

4 .Tag five more blogs with links

5. And don’t forget to leave a comment on the tagged blogs with an invitation to play!

. . .

14 Comments
  1. February 19, 2008 5:20 pm

    Your memoir is great.
    The thing i love about the idea of a 6 word memoir is that upon first consideration it seems so simple. Too simple. But for me, and many, the simplest things are usually the most profound.

    From your memoir i see a desire to bend the rules, wanting more than the status quo, a seeker.

    i like the idea of a picture (your children are adorable), but think your words are strong on their own.

  2. February 19, 2008 9:24 pm

    You pegged me with your comment, christine. I always look a gifted horse in the mouth. My husband says I need to stop questioning the status quo and demanding change. Blogging is only making that worse. πŸ˜‰ So many of my friends have such great ideas on their blogs and then I get all excited. And my husband gives me his “let’s just be normal” look. πŸ™„

    It would be better on its own rather than with the photo. So now what do I do? I think I will pretend no one except you and me saw that and re-do my post. πŸ˜€

  3. February 19, 2008 11:35 pm

    I like the memoir. I’ll be thinking about how to do that…

  4. You, madam, are no Sei Shonagon permalink
    February 20, 2008 4:49 am

    Oh great, make me sweat the memoir thingy. May take me a while. I’m a bursting with back posts to catch up on.

  5. February 20, 2008 8:40 am

    lol,I love it, says it all but I’m disgusted I missed the visual.

  6. February 20, 2008 9:52 am

    Aw, now i feel bad.
    The picture was totally cute. i was just saying that your words were able to stand on their own.

    The photo was just gravy. πŸ™‚

  7. gr8tful permalink
    February 20, 2008 1:08 pm

    Just stopped by to say hello! I hope all is well with you!! Oh yea, it’s me Winnie/pooh&tigger2!!

  8. February 20, 2008 9:15 pm

    FW,

    Don’t stop believing, hold onto to that feeling… or something to that effect.

    Blogs rule – they will change they world. You are my mentor in many respects because you straight D.G.A.F.

  9. February 21, 2008 9:37 am

    Hey there Chickie! Just wanted to let you know that I didn’t forget about this. I’m looking forward to it and I should get it done over the weekend (tomorrow is “Fight the Frump” day and I already have a great post about push-up bras & crotchless panties scheduled)

  10. February 21, 2008 1:54 pm

    Ann, I hope you enjoy doing it. It’s kind of hard to do even though it’s short. I look forward to yours.

    Madam, I tagged you because your life is so interesting! Just get to it if you can. I know you’ve got better things to do. πŸ˜›

    Janie, thanks for coming by to read my memoir. I had a lot of doubts about the visual. It was just my daughter on her tricycle, but something about it bothered me.

    christine, don’t feel bad. I didn’t like the way the post was when I published it so I was going to change it anyway.

    gr8tful, thanks for visiting. πŸ™‚ Things are going well!

    Johnny, I had to look up D.G.A.F. to find out what you were on about. Maybe you are right. That could be a euphemism for egotistical though, which I would not like to be. I have always struggled with that. I think highly of you too and appreciate your blog posts.

    Mindi, oh my goodness! Okay, I’ll see you then on your blog. LOL!

  11. February 22, 2008 11:40 pm

    That was hard, but my post is up. After struggling with the six word limit, your response sounds even more perfect.

  12. April 1, 2008 8:29 pm

    I believe we did ours wrong. Oops! We didn’t have the official rules of what a memoir was. It took me a minute to figure yours out-lol!

  13. April 1, 2008 8:55 pm

    Well-I did it according to the rules I received and a memoir is an autobiography. I missed your photo too! Darn!

  14. April 2, 2008 12:19 pm

    Mercedes, don’t worry about doing a meme incorrectly. One characteristic of memes is that they mutate as they travel. πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.

