Skip to content

The Virginia Republican Primary

February 11, 2008

Update:  My polling place did have paper ballots.  Request a paper ballot if it is available!

In Virginia, both parties are holding Primaries on Tuesday, February 12, 2008. Before going to the voting machines (which, by the way, do not generate voter verifiable paper ballots and the results are likely to be miscounted and manipulated), voters must declare whether they want to vote in the Republican Primary or the Democratic Primary. Don’t worry about the “loyalty oath” that was designed to intimidate voters. Signing that oath will not be part of the voting process. Any registered voter can vote in either of the primaries and does not owe any loyalty to either party in future elections. The polls are open from 6 am to 7 pm.

Ron Paul supporters can help other voters clearly understand who is still running and who has stopped campaigning. Ron Paul’s name is actually first on the ballot in Virginia, followed by John McCain, Fred Thompson, Mike Huckabee, Rudy Guiliani, and Mitt Romney. I’m trying to explain to people that the names on the ballot are not an accurate list of who is still in the presidential race. It is so frustrating how many people have never heard of Ron Paul and don’t understand that the process of getting onto the ballot took place months ago. If I am passionate about a candidate they have never heard of, they are immediately suspicious of my intentions and would rather trust the nightly news than one of their neighbors. That’s a very big obstacle I’ve come up against when canvassing.

Here is the postcard I received on Thursday:

. . .

Ron Paul Virginia postcard

. . .

I think it may have only been sent to people who have sent donations, to remind us to vote. I wish something could have gone out to every Virginian, but I guess that wouldn’t have been a wise way to spend the campaign’s money. At least there have been letters to the editor written by Ron Paul supporters in the newspapers recently.

A local paper ran the headline “Ron Paul is the winner” on February 5, 2008, which was a great morale booster, but was referring to which candidate received the most donations from the local area. It would be excellent to see the headline slightly rewritten as, “In the race for GOP nominee, Ron Paul is the winner,” but I don’t think that’s going to happen in Virginia.

. . .

Ron Paul is the winner

. . .

He is still hoping to send “Ron Paul delegates” to the Republican National Convention in Minneapolis St. Paul.

Once the Virginia Primary is over, my job as a Precinct Leader will continue. I can still help out in other states by calling registered voters and identifying supporters and I can continue to introduce my neighbors to Ron Paul’s political views so that people will see what’s happening now. So many Americans have not been educated about Real ID, the North American Union, the National Animal Identification System, Letters of Marque and Reprisal and other pressing issues. The idea is that once people understand how the government is undermining their hard work and their lifestyle, these voters will become Ron Paul Republicans too.

9 Comments
  1. February 11, 2008 3:17 pm

    I’m excited because my Cafepress order of Ron Paul stickers and buttons just arrived today. My sticker for my van is “Real Women Choose Ron Paul” with a picture of Rosie the Riveter.

    Congratulations to you for being so active in RP’s campaign. I have contemplated becoming a precint leader, but I am very shy and almost have a phone phobia, so it will take overcoming some anxiety issues for me to make that leap.

    It’s so sad to me how little the average person stops to think about government intrusion, policy or any type politics. So sad a statement of today’s America.

    Go Ron Paul!!

  2. February 11, 2008 3:32 pm

    Hey Lisa. Thanks for your comment! That’s great that you got your stickers and buttons in the mail today. Actually I’m really bad at being a precinct leader, because I am anxious about talking to people too. I’m gradually making progress in becoming more of a leader. I signed up when I was so mad at Anderson Cooper after the CNN debate. You could sign up too and just do what you are comfortable with. Our primary is tomorrow and honestly I haven’t done all I could have done, but it looks like I will be able to help out in other states that haven’t had primaries yet. 🙂 Chin up. We can still accomplish a lot.

  3. February 11, 2008 9:40 pm

    WTG FW! I didn’t know you were a precinct leader. Working the precincts is fun! Lisa, you can do it whether you are shy or not, there is always something to do. FW, are you sure you aren’t being a bit hard on yourself about doing all you could do? I admire anyone with two young children AND are active in politics. FW, I admire YOU!

  4. February 12, 2008 7:17 am

    I just went to vote this morning and I was able to use a paper ballot. Maybe some polling places do have them, so please request a paper ballot so that a recount can be done and the votes can be validated by hand.

  5. February 12, 2008 7:59 pm

    How does Ron Paul feel about immigration? I am just curious because I think the Democratic candidates are mostly ignoring the issue…glossing it over, if you will. And the Repubs, please… I think building a fence is the dumbest idea ever invented. Have these people ever BEEN to TX/NM/AZ? My guess is NO.

    *ahem*

  6. February 12, 2008 8:28 pm

    We are lucky here in Oregon because we do mail in ballots, there is a paper trail. Unfortunately our primary isn’t until the end of May.

  7. February 12, 2008 9:56 pm

    unbeelievable, here is what Ron Paul thinks about our current immigration situation:

    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/issues/border-security-and-immigration-reform/

    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/articles/130/rethinking-birthright-citizenship/

    He is a congressman from Texas and he helps patients seeking ob/gyn care in his community. His plan seems severe (and I heard him say last year that he would endorse Tom Tancredo out of all the other Republican candidates at the time) but he has direct experience with this issue and even though I am married to a South American immigrant I think Ron Paul is right that we need to step back and really analyze why immigrants come here illegally. What are your thoughts/experiences?

    Lisa, the primary season is poorly designed. Especially this year with some states trying to move their dates. That’s great that you have until May to talk to people about Ron Paul! 🙂

  8. February 13, 2008 1:44 am

    Interesting. I’m sort of surprised that he takes that stance, actually, but it was good reading. Thanks.

    My thoughts are that the problem is (a) Mexico and Central American countries are incredibly impoverished, creating a huge demand and (b) there are a ton of jobs here for illlegal aliens. I think if people are serious about this, the main reform that would help would be to penalize the employers who are hiring undocumented workers and create a serious guest worker program.

    I have a lot of sympathy for the immigrants that are here, more than many, I guess, because I’ve been to Central America and have seen what life is like there. They are just trying to do the right thing for their families. Ironically, they are not the poorest of the poor, because it is not cheap to get to the USA. When I was in Guatemala, one of the daughters in my host family was about my age. She had a degree from the local university and actually hired a coyote to take her across the border. She paid him 10,000 quetzales… about US 1, 250 at the time… an INSANELY large amount of money for down there. (The maintence guy at our school, for example, made 25 Quetzales per day… about $3) The guy ran off with her $$ and never took her across the border. Her mom was thanking God for this, as she knows how dangerous it can be to cross. But my point is, they were upper middle class and could afford it. They were the only family I ever knew who actuallly had a car. And they were such good people! An incredibly close family with strong moral convictions.

    Anyway, the current system is ridiculous… politicians like to bring up the metaphor of “waiting in line”… but for unskilled labor, I have heard that all countries get equal shots… so Mexico gets the same # of people as China, Zimbabwe, and Italy. If you got in the “line”, you would literally be in it forever if you are from Mexico or Central America.

    And the fence thing, again, I feel is rhetoric. Secure our borders? Ha! Our borders are thousands of miles long. Who will monitor it once it is completed? What will it do to the wildlife that live there? Will it really stop illegal immigration? I feel it is just a very expensive measure that will make us feel better… and I hate feel good crap like that.

    Oh.. kay… that’s probably more than you asked for. A lot more! 🙂 I do agree that immigration is a huge problem…and that it needs to be fixed… I’m just not sure that I’ve heard anyone give a great solution to it yet.

  9. February 13, 2008 9:40 am

    I agree with you about the stupidity of telling people to “wait in line.” There is currently no visa that an uneducated but hardworking person can apply for. There’s the guest worker program, but after they are here, there is little motivation to follow the restrictions of the visa and return when it has expired.

    I did the alternative spring break in Immokalee, Florida and met so many interesting men with stories of crossing the border. Here in Virginia, people aren’t so brazen about telling their stories. They don’t admit to being here illegally. A lot of the people I know have false social security numbers that they bought. I don’t know a great solution either. My husband’s company just got much stricter about needing to verify documents and several workers left the company because their documents would not have held up to the scrutiny. And I’ve met a girl who came here when she was 14 years old and pregnant just to be able to have a baby in the US. I’ve heard a lot of stories similar to yours that the coyotes will just take the money. It’s quite a scam and very dangerous. Ron Paul’s plan would take away the incentives that make the danger seem worth the risk. But also look at this video of what he says in Los Angeles:

    When families get separated due to immigration laws at 6:35
    Our economy encourages people NOT to work at 7:50
    A free market means we can be generous in immigration at 8:24
    He says he has helped reunite families in his congressional district at 9:07

    I don’t know. I didn’t like Tom Tancredo at all, but I like Ron Paul very, very much.

Comments are closed.

