Skip to content

Toes Photo Series: Parte Dos

February 5, 2008

. . .

my son's feet

. . .

my son's feet

. . .

my son's feet

. . .

my son's feet

. . .

my son's feet

. . .

my son's feet

. . .

my son's feet

. . .

I like this series of toes and feet much better than the first time I tried. The biggest obstacle is how to capture his skin-tone accurately. I kept getting pictures that made his skin too white or too red, when really he has light caramel skin. I had to play with the lighting and the ISO (50, 100, 200, 400) to try to show his true, real-life skin color.

. . .

27 Comments
  1. February 5, 2008 10:01 am

    Sweet toddler toes!!!!! These are really great FW! I mean REALLY good photos. I really love to watch you develop this gift. Not to mention I LOVE TODDLER TOES!!!!

  2. February 5, 2008 10:20 am

    Lovely!! Great pictures!

  3. February 5, 2008 10:49 am

    i want to nibble on those toes!
    i loved kissing my girls’ little feet and toes.
    i liked to hold them.

    Because they’re baby-sized.

  4. February 5, 2008 11:38 am

    Precious piggies!

  5. February 5, 2008 2:05 pm

    you’re making me jealous, those are some sexy toes!

  6. February 5, 2008 2:12 pm

    Just a head’s up, but you might want to be careful about posting such high-res shots of your child’s feet. They could become a victim of identity theft if someone is able to replicate their finger and toe prints.

    Soon we will all be subjected to bio-metric identification when we are forced to get our National ID card. If your children become outspoken patriots (i.e., defenders of the founding Father’s America, the Bill of Rights, and Liberty) the prints could be used to frame them for a crime or some other dastardly thing. I hope you do not think I am being an alarmist, I am just concerned.

  7. February 5, 2008 2:28 pm

    Johnny!!!!!!!!!! Wherethefug’ve you been? I’ve missed you. Well, anyway, you bring up a great point. I actually thought about that before I posted them. I was looking at them in the really large size that my camera gives me as default (I have to shrink them to 20% to fit on my blog) and I saw his toe prints. I hope he does become an outspoken patriot. He has started shouting “RON PAUL” in crowded areas, which is a good indication. I’m not kidding.

  8. February 5, 2008 6:27 pm

    I agree with thecanvasgrey – it is fun to watch you develop this gift!

    I think the first one is my favorite. Great job on all of them though, really! And I like the feet better on sheets than on the floor. I found it fascinating in the pictures where the sheet texture could be seen how wrinked feet mimic the wrinkles on our feet! Who would have thought! lol.

    Does your camera have different white balance settings? That might help also with getting the skin tone right. Skin tone can be really hard, though I think you’ve done a great job with it. And light itself has different colors that change how things look, and of course the sensors on our camera really just want to see everything as gray!

    Oh, that reminds me – try making a couple of them b&w (I think iPhoto or the basic Windows photo program can do this, otherwise there’s bound to be some freeware out there that will) just to see if you like them b&w! Sometimes it brings out really interesting features that you don’t notice when they’re in color.

  9. February 5, 2008 8:29 pm

    MORE FEEEEEEEEEEET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :::::Happy Sigh:::::

  10. February 5, 2008 11:01 pm

    Oh those are great. My favorites are the first and the fifth. I can’t wait to see more.

  11. February 6, 2008 8:28 am

    Deb, great thoughts. I will set my camera to black and white and try that next time. I’m glad you suggested it. I like the feet against the sheet much better, too.

    FreeFromItAll, it was your idea. Thanks!

    Ann, let me know if you decide to take some similar photos of your little girl. 🙂

  12. February 6, 2008 2:41 pm

    Oh – those are cute! Now I have this idea of lining my 3 kids up with bare feet and taking pictures of their toes.

    Just another reason for my husband to think I’m crazy….but it will look good in the scrapbook!

  13. February 7, 2008 2:36 pm

    Cute, I like the perspective in the fourth one:)

  14. February 7, 2008 3:13 pm

    Mindi, I like your idea of three sets of feet. I bet if you get the right angle you could get all three sets in the same photo, but would your kids be that patient? Let me know if you decide to post any of the photos.

    bookbabie, thanks!

  15. February 7, 2008 3:52 pm

    So simple, yet so cute.

    You should take a series of closeups of each body part (censored, of course) and put them together as a collage.

  16. February 8, 2008 10:32 pm

    Fingers next, fingers next! Chubby, wubby fingers next!!!

  17. February 8, 2008 11:52 pm

    I love the shots of your sons feet from the first shoot and the “Dos”. Now I want to try taking pics of my children’s feet lol.

  18. February 9, 2008 11:22 am

    I think your suggestion of a collage is interesting, M. Wade Nichols. I’ll see what I can come up with.

    FreeFromItAll, okay, but no high resolution finger prints!

    WhiteyMcWheatbread, I’m glad to see that you’ve been inspired by these photos. I hope you’ll let me know if you have any success with your own children’s feet.

  19. February 9, 2008 11:08 pm

    It’s your blog, you protect your children as you see fit. Oh, but thanks for thinking I would actually KNOW what high resolution meant.

    I have some pictures of my office on my blog. Done is digital print (LOL).

  20. February 10, 2008 10:11 am

    It just means I’m going to take photos of his chubby hands palm-side-down. If I did it palm-side-up Johnny would scold me.
    (see above; we’re anti national ID cards)

  21. globetrotteri permalink
    February 11, 2008 1:49 am

    I love this series. The first and second photos are my favorite though. Can’t wait to see the next installment!

  22. February 11, 2008 10:07 am

    Thanks Carrie! The first and fourth are my favorites. 🙂

  23. February 13, 2008 10:47 pm

    Totally adorable, FW – I’m feeling inspired now! And by the way, my son just had to watch the frog slide video twice! He says it looks like fun, wondered where “the other kids are”, and wants to play with your kids.

  24. February 14, 2008 9:53 am

    That’s great, Princess Edamame. I would love for our families to get together and play.

  25. February 15, 2008 6:55 am

    Hey, incase I don’t check in time, make sure to leave a comment at my blog if you do following through with my suggestion.

    I have a few little ones I could do that with right now, but I’m in the process of moving, so I’m not doing many creative things.

    Also, 24 comments on pictures of toes? You must be doing something right with your blog 🙂

  26. February 15, 2008 9:13 am

    Thanks for the compliment, M. Wade Nichols! Can I call you Wade? 🙂

    I will leave a comment at your place to let you know when the collage is done. I’m sorry you are in the stressful transition of moving and don’t have time to do the things you like to do.

  27. May 19, 2008 12:58 pm

    I want to eat up those little piggies!

Comments are closed.

