Skip to content

Toes Photo Series

February 3, 2008

. . .

my son's toes

. . .

my son's toes

. . .

my son's toes

. . .

my son's toes

. . .

my son's toes

. . .

my son's toes

. . .

my son's toes

. 0. .

I didn’t have very good lighting, so I ended up lowering a lamp to the floor and trying to use the lamp to improve the shadows and contrasts. I still have a lot to learn. Constructive criticism is encouraged and welcomed.

It was very strange to see my son’s feet and toes in this way. I was frustrated by the tiny flakes of dry skin and the mistakes in the way I had cut his toenails. I was thinking, “FreeFromItAll told me to take photos of baby toes because they are so cute, but I’m getting all these weird shots; I wonder if anyone will think these are cute.” Macro shots can be brutally revealing of imperfections. Taking these photos was a lesson for me to be thankful that our eyes aren’t as demanding as the camera’s lens.

9 Comments
  1. February 3, 2008 10:37 am

    Cute!

  2. February 3, 2008 10:39 am

    sweet feet pics:)

  3. February 3, 2008 10:50 am

    Look at those cute toes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. February 3, 2008 11:42 am

    I think they are very cute! And I doubt I’m the only one that finds the very natural imperfections to be interesting. I think you did a great job with the light as well. Lighting is a huge subject all of its own, and one I know little about! I tend to depend on sunlight, though I did recently get a bigger flash. The best way to learn is to play with it, which is exactly what you’re doing, so keep it up! I think you’ve got a good handle on it so far.

    I can’t decide if I find the floor texture interesting or distracting. Might be worth trying to capture them on sheets or blankets, even in different colors, to see what the effects are. Though I imagine these were shots taken after they collapsed for naps, so that might be easier said than done!

    I like the 2nd and 3rd the best in terms of composition, and I really like the lighting of the last one. It somehow emphasizes both the curve of the heel and calf as well as the line of the foot that is further away. For the 3rd one, I’d try cropping it a bit to make it more just toes. I don’t know if cropping would improve it at all in the end, but I’d be likely to give it a try to see if it changes things!

    Great job with the feet!

  5. February 3, 2008 1:34 pm

    I love these! They’re making me want to do a similar photo shoot. I think the first two are probably my favorites, though I’m having a hard time articulating why.

  6. February 3, 2008 9:37 pm

    My favorites are #3 and #5. I love the close-ups on the chubby baby toes. They look perfect for nibbling. 🙂

  7. February 4, 2008 4:37 pm

    I’ll do toes against sheets next time. I don’t really like any of these. #3 is so-so. Do you see his bare bottom in the background? LOL!

  8. February 6, 2008 4:04 pm

    Adorable, I loved kissing my baby’s feet! I have never been very good with photography but this looks good to me!

  9. January 25, 2009 8:45 am

    children feet are the cutest thing in the world!
    specially the little soles.

Comments are closed.

