Skip to content

Salatin’s Endorsement of Ron Paul

February 1, 2008

. . .

Joel Salatin

. . .

image source

Joel Salatin wants Ron Paul to be the President of the United States. Here’s why in his own words:

I don’t think I’ve ever felt as comfortable with a Presidential candidate as I do this year with Ron Paul. Generally the conservatives worship Wall Street, the military industrial complex, and American empire building around the world. The liberals worship government agencies, government solutions, and never saw a tax they didn’t like or a baby worth saving. So where does a guy turn who wants small government, no subsidies, pro-life, no corporate welfare, and a hoe-your-own-garden military? Finally we have a candidate: Ron Paul.

The reason the mainstream can’t handle him is because he doesn’t fit the stereotypes. And therein lies his strength. As a Christian libertarian environmentalist capitalist, Ron Paul embodies the reasonable approach to thorny issues. He would rein in the globalists by unleashing grass roots entrepreneurs. That’s true free marketing, not pseudo free marketing via corporate welfarism and criminalizing small business. He thinks we should be able to choose what to eat and how to educate rather than big brother government being the only credible approval source.

Rather than squandering the nation’s treasury and goodwill to insure cheap oil, he would unfetter backyard tinkerers whose 100-mile-per-gallon carburetors and cottage-sized alternative fuel prototypes could make the U.S. energy independent. He understands that the real answers do not come from the top down, but always come from the bottom up. And that is why he often casts the solitary opposition vote in Congress. Bless him.

. . .

Joel Salatin

. . .

image source

. . .

8 Comments
  1. February 1, 2008 1:43 pm

    Thank you for getting this out! Of course, I’m not surprised. Joel Salatin has done for farming what Ron Paul is doing for the Federal Government!

  2. February 1, 2008 1:52 pm

    Nice post, Ms. Windmills.

    Joel’s entrepreneurial self-reliance is as much an anomaly in our interconnected fiber-optic outsourcing world as is Dr. Paul’s constitutionalism. Both men are contemporary torch bearers for ideals intrinsic to the birth of our nation, and remain necessarily relevant.

    We’ve been on an unsustainable mass-production consumerist-daydream for many generations, so the beautiful irony is our future survival will depend, in part, to revisiting political and technological concepts from two hundred years ago. Our movement toward replication and standardization β€” in both products and in human thought β€” has been a detour of limited viability.

    Standardization. Stagnation. Conformity.

    vs.

    Darwinism. Adaptation. Freedom.

  3. February 1, 2008 3:38 pm

    Thanks for your comment- it’s good to hear from you! And I love your post! AND good job on being a precinct leader- my hubby wants us to do that, too, although we haven’t yet. You’ve totally cheered up my day- I got home today and our neighbor’s stupid dog broke our fence and killed our 5 chickens while we were at work. Grrrrrrr. I’m really upset but your blog is helping my sour mood. :O) Thanks!

  4. cheeseslave permalink
    February 1, 2008 4:48 pm

    Hey – your blog just got quoted on Native Nutrition! Do you read this list?

    Date: Feb 1, 2008 1:09 PM
    Subject: RE: [NN] POLITICS – Joel Salatin’s comment on Ron Paul
    To: native-nutrition@yahoogroups.com

    Here is the Salatin quote:

    https://fightingwindmills.wordpress.com/

    Nanette

  5. February 2, 2008 1:03 am

    love this fw. I would like to hat tip you.
    This is what I believe most feel but have not gotten very far in looking at his stand on the issues. It is a shame Thanks for sharing a great post! πŸ™‚
    Angie

  6. February 2, 2008 1:56 pm

    Kristin (of Solar Family Farm), thank you for your support! It’s nice to meet you.

    Rick, I love your way with words. Thanks for commenting, both here and on the Daily Dose. It’s always fun to interact with you.

    Kristin (of Backyard Farmers), that is horrible! I can’t even imagine how upset you are about your chickens. 😦 I’m glad that you and your husband are considering being precinct leaders, but y’all better hurry up if you want to have any impact! Good luck!

    CheeseSlave, this post is getting linked all over the place (which I’m excited about). Keep ’em comin’.

    Angie, I’m so glad that you are learning more about Ron Paul. Please share it wherever you see fit.

  7. February 3, 2008 12:57 pm

    Joe:
    Let’s hope that many, many more of our farmer heroes come out and publicly endorse your stand for Ron Paul. I live in small farming community that has for the most part been supported in large part by government subsidies and I so hope as a chapter leader to make some small difference in the years to come. People like you encourage me to go forward and be not afraid of the big bad wolves. Blessings: Maria Atwood-www.traditionalcook.com

  8. Domini permalink
    June 22, 2009 3:42 pm

    Hello Mr Salatin,
    I just saw the film sub titled in French yesterday. Disgusting the food industry. I am so proud of you to deveil all secret how it is working this industry. As a matter of fact, I am buying food in taking time to read the food description on the product. I told my office friends, my family, in the bus, in the taxi, everywhere I am, to go to see the informative movie. Thanks you so much and I regret to be far away of your agricultural site, because you will have all my family and friends your healthy products.

Comments are closed.

