Skip to content

Bumpy Socks Photo Series

January 25, 2008

. . .

bumpy socks

. . .

bumpy socks

. . .

bumpy socks

. . .

bumpy socks

. . .

bumpy socks

. . .

bumpy socks

. . .

I’m trying out different settings on our camera, a Canon PowerShot SD550. I put it on the manual setting and chose the macro sub-setting. Then I tried setting the ISO at 100 and 200 while keeping the flash off.

In the first photo, my son’s socks have slouched down and are not situated on his feet correctly. He was asleep, so I was able to pull his socks into the correct position before continuing to practice these macro shots.

Sometimes I was able to get the camera to focus on a single bump in the texture of the bumpy socks. Other times I was able to get the camera to focus on the jeans my son was wearing. That photo (the fifth one down) is my favorite one of the series because it seems defiant and unconventional. The experience of taking these photos, looking at them on the computer, and being able to see such rich texture magnified is satisfying.

I think it’s exciting to think of new ways to document my experience as a mom. Photos of feet may not be appropriate in our family photo album, but on my blog I think they work well. I just like to accomplish something modern and technical instead of constantly feeling primitive (the eat, poop, sleep cycle).

. . .

6 Comments
  1. January 25, 2008 5:05 pm

    I love those tiny feet! Only one thing wrong – they’re covered by SOX! Take off the sox mom, we wanna see TOES. πŸ˜€

  2. January 25, 2008 7:34 pm

    I’ll put “toes” on my to-do list. πŸ˜›

  3. January 25, 2008 9:12 pm

    The third and fourth are my favorites! It is so much fun to see what others see. And I totally agree about how satisfying it is to take all these odd pictures and see them on the computer, to get the instant feedback and never worry about development costs!

  4. January 25, 2008 10:28 pm

    I meant to say that the fifth one down is my favorite in the context of the series because it focuses on the jeans while all the other focus on the toes. But I accidentally typed “fourth” instead.

    Next time, I’ll pull the socks off and see if I can get some photos of bare toes!

  5. January 26, 2008 4:09 pm

    I liked that about the fifth one as well, and it would have been my favorite if the top was cropped off a bit, so the stuff at the top wasn’t distracting. It’s a good series, regardless!

  6. January 26, 2008 6:04 pm

    You’re right, the top needs to be cropped off. Thanks for helping critique them, Deb!

Comments are closed.

