Skip to content

Snow Nose

January 18, 2008

. . .

playing in the snow

. . .
So, my son decides that this yellow neck warmer of mine is a much nicer “hat” than his knit cap from Davidson. He is so stubborn. He was yelling at us, “NO! MY HAT!” as we were trying to get ready to go outside. Once we were outside he was having trouble deciding if snow on his face and on his shoes was good or not.

. .

playing in the snow

. . .

My daughter found a blade of grass sticking through the snow.

. . .

playing in the snow

. . .

Look! She’s wearing a neck warmer on her neck and not on her head.

. . .

playing in the snow

. . .

It was really fun to play outside in the snow yesterday. We had a great time. My husband got to come home from work early. My son was making me laugh by calling the snow “nose” and trying to manage holding a snowball while wearing gloves that are much too big and awkward for him.

. . .

. . .

24 Comments
  1. January 18, 2008 3:10 pm

    i am ridiculously envious of your snow.
    It’s only snowed a few times here in Talent, OR, but every time it did, i almost wet my pants with utter joy.

    The cutest thing is how your son reacted to the snow on his shoe.
    It looks fun, your son’s “nose” and the eye of your daughter spotting a little spring- sweetness.

  2. January 18, 2008 4:03 pm

    I hope we get a good snow this weekend, but not the cold, dry snow. a good snow for making snowballs and a snow man.

  3. January 18, 2008 5:51 pm

    Cute pictures and video, you look like you all were having such a fun time. I was excited for Zoe to play in the snow this winter, but she doesn’t fit into her snowboots and so she just stands in the snow looking freaked out.

  4. January 19, 2008 11:03 am

    So cute! Your son looks so much like your dh, just by comparison of the first and last photos…same smile.

    Isn’t it maddening that they don’t make gloves/mittends to fit/stay on toddlers?

  5. January 19, 2008 8:08 pm

    How cute! I remember when I’d get excited about snow. Of course there was also the possibility of snow days to make it that much more exciting! 😀

  6. January 20, 2008 1:15 am

    OMG that was so awesome! I laughed out loud. SO CUTE! And the snow looks amazing. Thanks for posting that. 🙂

  7. January 20, 2008 9:58 am

    I’m glad you all liked this post. Now the snow is gone, so it was a good thing we went out while it was still falling and got some fun out of it. My son still can’t say the word “snow.” When I show him this video that I made he gets so excited and shouts, “nose!” at the computer. Then I say to him “ssssssssssssss, put the s on the beginning of the word, not the end.” But, to no avail.

  8. January 21, 2008 4:01 am

    ENVY!! It only ever snows in one or two areas in Australia, and guess what? I’m in wrong half of the country! But your children are very cute, you all seemed to enjoy it and had a lot of fun. You’re lucky to have captured the moment as you did, now that the snow has gone again.

  9. January 21, 2008 6:19 pm

    Look at all of that nose~I mean snow-lol. Where are you at again? Amazing who gets snow and who doesn’t.

    WOOF!

  10. January 21, 2008 8:13 pm

    We got about 6 inches here in the Shenandoah Valley, Virginia. The road crews did such a good job of clearing off the roads that it wasn’t even an issue a day later.

  11. January 21, 2008 8:36 pm

    Man~was I way off on the location~I am still confused on who’s who and where and what and …LOL! Virginia~that explains the snow-duh!

    WOOF!

  12. January 22, 2008 11:05 am

    I laughed so hard that snot came out of my “snow”. I love playing in the “nose”, but we don’t get much here on the bay.

  13. January 22, 2008 9:39 pm

    Yes soooooo awesome, I want some SNOOOOOOWWWWW!!!! Beautiful snow, beautiful kids, beautiful family!

  14. January 30, 2008 6:50 pm

    Total CUTENESS!! Love the pictures, but I’m glad I live in a warmer climate!

  15. January 31, 2008 2:19 pm

    How fun! Must be a mom thing to record our kids in the ‘nose’. Or they are just too excited and cute in the ‘nose’ that we want to remember it forever.

    I actually clicked this post because you named it snow nose. We have a purebred yellow lab and he gets what is referred to as ‘snow nose’ (a black nose turning pink in the winter time). There is much speculation as to why their noses turn pink during winter months and then black again in spring but I don’t know for sure why. It’s just funny.

    Is snow in Virginia a novelty? Or is it the norm? I live in MI and I can safely say it’s NOT a rare event here. 6 months out of the year…. snow

  16. January 31, 2008 9:19 pm

    Mercedes, did you think I was over in Tennessee with you? LOL.

    Bikkuri, I can’t believe you said “snot.” You always crack me up. 🙂

    CanvasGrey, have y’all gotten any snow yet? Thanks for saying nice things about my family. 😛

    lisamm, thanks! I love books, so I’ll be visiting your blog soon!

    Chris, your kids in their own “nose” video is precious! I didn’t know that about yellow labs. That’s so interesting! But I guess I should have thought more about the title of my post. Snow falls and accumulates probably 5-8 times per winter here. Sometimes it gets on cycles and will snow once a week consistently on the same day of the week.

  17. February 1, 2008 7:28 am

    No~for some reason I thought you were in Texas or New Mexico…don’t ask me why. LOL

    WOOF!

  18. February 1, 2008 9:52 am

    Just one day, a dusting and gone. I want some snow like you all got.

    I love that area, we pass through all the time on trips home. It is heavenly there! One year just after Christmas we got caught in an ice/snow storm there. Stopped and stayed in a sweet old motel and watched the deer out the sliding glass door…it was awesome.

  19. February 1, 2008 11:38 am

    Mercedes, maybe you though I was from a “border state” because I did the Spanish stuff at PT? LOL!

    CanvasGrey, well, it’s pouring cold rain here now and ice is all over the branches so I’m sure you’re not jealous of that!

  20. February 2, 2008 1:09 am

    I don’t know what I thought, or was thinking, or even what I am thinking now! ROFL! Glad to know for real and I won’t forget it either-lol!

    WOOF!

  21. February 2, 2008 4:00 am

    Maybe because somewhere *wink* it says Southern USA??? I dunno-lol!

  22. February 2, 2008 1:49 pm

    Oh right, there’s that. Well, at least now you know. 😉

  23. February 2, 2008 3:57 pm

    lisamm can I come live with you? It was -39 here last week.

  24. February 3, 2008 12:21 pm

    Whew! We got snowfall here. Saturday night I left a friend’s going away party at a bar. I stood outside saying good byes to a few acquaintances and they laughed because the snowflakes were piling up on my head. A group of us crashed at a friend’s apartment. I got home 24 hours later and I still have a pile of snow in my front drive. This is the most snow I’ve seen in four winters here.

Comments are closed.

