Skip to content

Ani DiFranco and her daughter Petah

January 16, 2008

For whoever typed “is ani difranco appropriate for young children?” into a search engine, please know that I think she is. Maybe you, inquisitive search engine user, meant to ask if her music was appropriate or if her politics were appropriate, but you asked if she was appropriate . . .

Please watch this video of “Both Hands” (with extended footage). On January 20th, this Sunday, her baby will celebrate her first year. Happy birthday, Petah Lucia! Petah, you are adorable and in very capable hands. Your mom rocks. Isn’t it absurd that someone wants to know if your mom is appropriate? When you’re bigger you’ll be able to express how you feel about that.

Ani was interviewed by Jessica Robertson for Spinner.com back in October. Of motherhood and the lifestyle changes it brings, she says,

I think I had a nanosecond of resistance in the beginning. Like, “Wow, now I have to give you most of my time and energy, and I can’t spend all day in the studio, or with my guitar, or tripping on my own thoughts.” She’s always there going, “Yo, let’s go play with grass.” Though I resisted, I realized that I need to step away from my work and myself.

For more on this radical mom, please read the rest of the interview here.

. . .Β 

. . .Β 

6 Comments
  1. January 16, 2008 11:19 pm

    Thanks for the link to the interview. I’ve always thought that Not a Pretty Girl is a great song for girls. It always makes me feel happy and strong when I hear it.

  2. January 17, 2008 8:41 am

    I really like that song too, Ann. I didn’t see this interview (from October) on the interwebs until yesterday! I guess it took that search engine term showing up on my dashboard to motivate me to look for an answer. πŸ™‚ It’s a great interview.

  3. Kathie permalink
    January 18, 2008 11:39 am

    Thanks for the YouTube Video; I have never heard of Ani DiFranco. Loved the song, it is very upbeat. I love your children nap photos. If things were not going great on a particular day, I would go into my children’s room and watch them sleep. It always made everything else seem to melt away.

  4. January 18, 2008 1:33 pm

    Kathie, I’m glad you liked Ani’s song. She’s very talented, but not so well-known. Her songs tend to be sad and hopeful at the same time–very quixotic.

  5. January 19, 2008 11:00 am

    I loved the quote. I never knew how wrapped up in myself I was until a few years of motherhood had sunk in!

    Unlike movies and television (there are things that I think are worth watching for teens/adults but I won’t allow my dc to watch yet), I think if music is inappropriate for children, it’s inappropriate for the adults too. Music is a great way for kids to begin to think about difficult issues; if it’s too hard, to deep, or over their heads, they can just enjoy the song and grasp what they are able.

  6. January 20, 2008 10:45 am

    Rebecca, I definitely agree with you about music helping with difficult issues. My daughter doesn’t like Ani’s music yet. She complains that it’s too percussive.

    And to everyone looking for photos of Ani and Petah, please buy the May-June 2008 issue of mothering magazine. There are pages of gorgeous photos.

Comments are closed.

