Skip to content

Joel Salatin to endorse Ron Paul

January 8, 2008

Joel Salatin, a libertarian farmer in Virginia, endorses Ron Paul for President. I am reading his latest book, Everything I Want to Do Is Illegal, and had assumed that he would be endorsing Ron Paul, and yesterday Salatin told me over the phone that it is true. He hasn’t put his name on the official list because, living in Swoope, he only has dial-up internet access and can’t be bothered with webpages that take 30 minutes to load.

Since I am one of “those young people” in the city who have high-speed cable access I printed out the endorsement form and mailed it to him. Then he will mail it to Alexandria, Virginia, where it will become part of the official list.

In case anyone does any internet searches in the mean time, I wanted to get the word out.

I have a lot of books to read in the next couple of weeks. This picture is worth one thousand four hundred forty eight words. (I mean pages! I have no idea how many words there are in these books.)

. . .

books

. . .

16 Comments
  1. January 8, 2008 1:22 pm

    At first I read that Joe Stalin, and I thought, what the hell! But then I actually read it. Very cool. Ron Paul is actually me second choice at this point.

  2. cbrunette permalink
    January 8, 2008 2:58 pm

    That’s fabulous! I was wondering what Mr. Salatin thought of Ron Paul.

    ~Anna

  3. January 8, 2008 4:58 pm

    Fuck Fiction, LOL! I love it when people “actually read” what I write. That’s ideal, of course.

    Anna, I was wondering too, so I just called him up! Thanks for your comment.

  4. January 12, 2008 11:45 pm

    You got a load of reading to do – good for you. I love the title of the book “Everything I want to do is illegal”. For instance I might want to smoke a spliff, open a business without a license, give legal advice, do a home inspection, decorate a home, park an unregistered car in “my driveway”, perform a medical procedure on a relative. or speak freely on a government school campus outside of their “free speech” zone.

    I might also want to speak out against our corrupt government. That will not stand, and those who attempt to do so must be marginalized as racists, anti-Semites, and nut-jobs. Sorry, but I do not fit in any categories. Keep up the good work FW.

  5. Robert Hester permalink
    January 13, 2008 2:11 am

    Sarah – I am concerned about this Ron Paul newsletter thing where he makes racist comments and bashes gays. If if he didn’t write it – how could he let that be published in his name? Def seems sketchy….Vote for Hillary!! πŸ˜‰

  6. January 13, 2008 10:07 am

    Robert, you and everyone else following his campaign are concerned! Even Andrew Sullivan wrote about his disbelief. It is sketchy that his name is on articles he didn’t write or even read before they were published. One of the basic premises of libertarianism is that people are people. If people are put into groups they can be discriminated against by someone from a group that is perceived as powerful. Ron Paul happens to be a white and heterosexual male. Here is what he had to say about those articles:

    β€œThe quotations in The New Republic article are not mine and do not represent what I believe or have ever believed. I have never uttered such words and denounce such small-minded thoughts.

    β€œIn fact, I have always agreed with Martin Luther King, Jr. that we should only be concerned with the content of a person’s character, not the color of their skin. As I stated on the floor of the U.S. House on April 20, 1999: β€˜I rise in great respect for the courage and high ideals of Rosa Parks who stood steadfastly for the rights of individuals against unjust laws and oppressive governmental policies.’

    β€œThis story is old news and has been rehashed for over a decade. It’s once again being resurrected for obvious political reasons on the day of the New Hampshire primary.

    β€œWhen I was out of Congress and practicing medicine full-time, a newsletter was published under my name that I did not edit. Several writers contributed to the product. For over a decade, I have publicly taken moral responsibility for not paying closer attention to what went out under my name.”

    This is what he says about racism:

    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/issues/racism/

    And this is what he said to Bill Moyers about rethinking our policy toward Israel and our current welfare system:

    http://www.pbs.org/moyers/journal/01042008/watch2.html

    Ron Paul is still my hero. He has inspired me to become much more informed and excited about politics. I am beginning to understand things that I have not thought about ever before and I thank him for that.

  7. January 13, 2008 11:39 am

    JP, your list of things you might want to do makes me laugh, but seriously, Joel Salatin is talking about “outrageous” things like host a class of elementary school students on a “field trip” at his farm, help a neighbor make bed posts out of a fallen tree by allowing the neighbor to use his saw, let a 15 year old operate a power screwdriver, keep his customer list to himself rather than share it with a bureaucrat. You know, things crazy white farmer dudes might do. His book is hilarious, but also so sad because it is full of true stories of the consequences of non-compliance.

  8. January 13, 2008 12:27 pm

    Thank you for the links.

  9. January 15, 2008 9:53 pm

    Sweet!!!!!! I am sooo happy that my farm hero Joel Salatin is endorsing my political hero Ron Paul! I have been thinking about writing Joel a letter to let him know about Dr. Paul, incase he hadn’t heard about him. Thanks for asking him and posting it up here- that’s great. I’m glad I found your blog! :O)

  10. January 15, 2008 10:16 pm

    Fuck Fiction, you’re welcome. My pleasure.

    Kristin, Joel Salatin and I had a great conversation on the phone and he said he has the literature and official pamphlets at his store. So, he’s definitely actively supporting the campaign and passing on the message of freedom within his circle of influence.

    At first, I was a little nervous about how to bring it up. I gingerly told him I was following the campaign and was attracted to libertarian government and asked him if would consider endorsing Paul. He said something like he didn’t know if his endorsement would make an impact or matter to anyone but that he was very willing to officially endorse Paul. I guess he knew that a lot of folks would just dismiss the endorsement as ‘a kooky libertarian farmer endorses another kooky libertarian farmer,’ but you and I know there’s so much more to it than that. He sent the letter to Alexandria last week so it should show up on the website soon. Thanks for voicing your support! πŸ™‚

  11. January 16, 2008 2:17 am

    I just read up in Salatin on Wikipedia.

    “Salatin, a self-described “Christian-libertarian-environmentalist-lunatic farmer”

    I dunno if that is an accurate self-description, but I love it. Individually, all of those descriptors (with the possible exception of farmer) are typically used to malign a person for his/her beliefs, but in conjunction, they create the perfect storm of individuality.

    Good for you for broaching the subject of endorsing Ron Paul with Salatin. One by one we are infinitesimal representations of political power, but collectively (and I hate that word), we can instill a change of management.

  12. January 17, 2008 3:42 pm

    I think that Salatin endorsing Paul could do a WHOLE lot of good- Joel has quite a following in the alternative agriculture world. I was so excited to call my family (who have an organic farm in ky) to let them know about Salatin endorsing Ron Paul. Maybe Joel doesn’t realize how big his circle of influence is… I personally am eager to see how many ppl he will sway to vote for Ron Paul! Especially if there was an article or something by Joel in some of the alternative ag publications. That would be great! Talk about reaching the right sort of voters, many of whom have probably written the election off this year. Anyhow, Thanks so much for bravely talking to Joel about Ron Paul– I am so glad you did!!! And, by the way, I’m glad to meet you!

  13. January 17, 2008 6:38 pm

    Yes, and take a look at his speaking schedule. His circle of influence is huge!

    http://www.polyfacefarms.com/schedule.aspx

  14. January 26, 2008 6:11 pm

    I am getting so impatient about Salatin’s endorsement not being on the official list yet. Come on, headquarters, get on it!

    In the meantime, I found this argument written by Ron Paul against the NAIS:

    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/articles/883/stop-the-nais/

  15. JBob permalink
    February 2, 2008 10:54 pm

    Yes! The pieces of the universe have taken one more great step towards harmonious perfection! Now we just need to get Allan Nation from the Stockman Grassfarmer on board.

  16. February 3, 2008 9:22 am

    JBob, thanks for commenting. I’m glad you’re excited. Do you know how to contact Allan Nation? This is Salatin’s actual endorsement:

    https://fightingwindmills.wordpress.com/2008/02/01/salatins-endorsement-of-ron-paul/

Comments are closed.

