Skip to content

Dancing Teletubbies Style

December 27, 2007

. . .

. . .

The day before Christmas we changed the layout of our living room so that our Christmas tree has a more prominent location. We think it’s interesting to rearrange things once in a while. But it’s rather silly that we decided to carve out a corner of the room to feature the tree and now it is time to take it down. We don’t know what we are going to put in that corner when we pack away the tree.

This video shows my daughter and son dancing. At one point in the video, my daughter says, “Aren’t you going to grab me?” Grabar means “to record, to film” in Spanish. As her vocabulary has expanded, she has convinced herself that to change a verb from Spanish to English she just needs to take the “ir” or “er” or “ar” off the end of the Spanish verb. Grabar is just one of the verbs that she thinks this rule applies to. 🙄

. . .

11 Comments
  1. pppj permalink
    December 27, 2007 5:27 pm

    More dancing – I love it. It must be warm where you are. It is freezing and snowing here. I can’t imagine my kids running around in their underwear even when they were little when it’s January.

    The joys of Wisconsin

  2. Ann permalink
    December 27, 2007 11:34 pm

    What a great little insight into how your daughter is learning to navigate two different languages. It’s so cool that she’s learning both languages at once.

  3. December 28, 2007 9:13 am

    Your little girl is a princess and your little boy is a bundle of joy. What fun to watch them dance. It reminds me of what it was like in toddler-ville just a few years ago.

    You have made a beautiful home for your family, Miss Windmills. Don’t worry about the corner, it will be filled with love.

    You are blessed.

  4. rosiemolinary permalink
    December 28, 2007 12:28 pm

    How cute are they, and I love the Grabar/Grab story. It, in fact, reminds me of the time that I told our priest that I was very embarassada (I thought I was saying embarrassed. I was actually telling him that I, as a teenager, was very pregnant) in front of my parents. I operated on the “add a few letters” to translate the word into Spanish principal, and it has led to some funny stories!

  5. December 28, 2007 8:48 pm

    pppj, it’s around 40 degrees outside, but we are toasty inside because our apartment gets the heat rising from our neighbors downstairs, heat coming through the walls to the right, and heat coming from the walls to the left! We are snug in the middle. You know my son is in a pants resistance phase right now. LOL.

    Ann, analyzing how she processes languages is really cool. She’s very aware of her own presumptions and sometimes she opens up to me and explains the grammar that she’s having trouble understanding. She knows a lot of words in both languages, but she almost always uses Spanish grammatical structure.

    FreeFromItAll, how cool that you have a new blog! Thanks for letting me know about it. You are so sweet to say we will fill the corner with love. It’s cheesy, but true. 😛

    Rosie, too funny! This process of raising them to be bilingual definitely has us on the lookout for mistranslations worthy of writing down and remembering. It’s a great way to see how they grow and learn.

  6. momster permalink
    December 29, 2007 1:44 pm

    What a precious video…your new year will be full of joy! AND challenges! heehee

  7. December 29, 2007 4:43 pm

    Aw, what gorgeous little dancing sprites you have there. I predict your daughter will be trying out for American Idol in about 8 years. 😉
    WC

  8. December 29, 2007 4:51 pm

    Is there anything better than spinning yourself dizzy?

    Your girls are adorable.
    And i noticed your tree in the corner.
    i’d love, one day, to have a white tree- decorated with pink and black ornaments.
    My family is totally against this vision of mine.

  9. December 29, 2007 6:48 pm

    Hey, who you callin cheesy? 😀 😀 😀

  10. thecanvasgrey permalink
    January 1, 2008 11:11 am

    Who needs to eat sugar when ya can watch this? Did I see little halos? 😉

  11. January 1, 2008 1:30 pm

    momster, thanks for coming by to comment and thanks for the wishes for the new year.

    WC, I like that you called them sprites. It’s unlikely that my daughter will perform on stage. She claims to be “a little shy” every time we put her in a performance-type situation. But in her living room she is comfortable enough to show off.

    c, yes spinning yourself dizzy seems to be a great way to pass the time for toddlers. 🙂 Keep on your family about that white tree vision and maybe they will see it your way.

    FreeFromItAll, what you wrote was cheesy, but also very appreciated. Thanks!

    CanvasGrey, if you saw little halos that gives me hope! 😉

Comments are closed.

