Skip to content

Univision will televise a Republican Debate

December 8, 2007

On December 9, 2007 at 7:00 PM EST Republican presidential candidates will be at the University of Miami for a televised debate. The questions will be asked in Spanish and the candidates’ answers will be translated into Spanish. The issues debated will be of particular concern to the Spanish-speaking community.

Jorge Ramos and Mar�a Elena Salinas

Univision is channel 402 on DirecTV and channel 827 on Dish Network (Dish Latino). The moderators of the debate are Jorge Ramos and María Elena Salinas. (photo credit)

Find out more (in Spanish) about this debate and about each of the candidates on Univision’s website. They will also broadcast the debate live on their website for those who want to watch it on-line. The link to the on-line broadcast will only be activated at the appropriate time. It is accessible by clicking “Transmision en vivo” on the Destino 2008 page of Univision’s website.

I am very interested to see how Ron Paul defends the political positions he has taken that make him look unappealing to Spanish-speaking immigrants. I hope he can show them that he has the interests of the American people in mind. I found out from Univision’s website that Ron Paul’s middle name is Ernest!

I know that some people distrust Ron Paul and think he is racist. He accepted a monetary donation from a well-known white supremacist. Some bloggers have asked why he accepted it when he had the moral obligation to decline. But, I disagree. He accepts donations from individuals and does not necessarily investigate what connections or opinions people have. I imagine that he would not reject a donation from me because I am not married to a white man or because I am pro-choice, so he should not have to reject a donation from anyone.

I have high expectations for this debate because it could be his best chance to show how open-minded and caring he is. I admire him for attending the debate (whereas Tom Tancredo declined the invitation to participate). I feel so fortunate to have the opportunity to hear him before this audience. If he doesn’t live up to my expectations I will be disappointed, but hopefully not completely disillusioned. Ron Paul has accomplished so much at this point it would be hard for me to give up my hope for his continued success.

2 Comments
  1. Hawk permalink
    December 8, 2007 10:18 pm

    It will certainly will be interesting. We’ll see, when we see!

  2. December 9, 2007 9:05 pm

    I feel sorry about the way he was treated. He was not asked to answer some of the questions; the moderators just ignored him. I was especially surprised that they skipped his turn on the question about health care. Why would they not ask the Doctor about health care?

    I was disappointed in his response as to how Latinos can lead America to a great future. He totally dropped the ball on that one, just giving a stock answer. I understand that he doesn’t like to put people into groups. He doesn’t pander to get “the Latino vote,” if there were such a thing. Still I think he could have answered that question in a much better way because the other candidates were grinning like rock stars when they got a good audience response.

Comments are closed.

