Skip to content

The First Snowfall!

December 5, 2007
tags: ,

Last night we got our first snowfall and I’m amazed to report that it is sticking and accumulating!  We usually don’t get a snowfall like this until January.  Looking out our windows, I see it has dusted every surface and is still falling rapidly in tiny flakes.  It is especially beautiful when it gathers in the nooks of the bare trees.

snowcrystals.com

SnowCrystals.com has the most comprehensive explanations of how snow forms and the most beautiful photos of snow crystals I have ever seen.  What a feat it must be to photograph a snow crystal!

10 Comments
  1. December 5, 2007 10:26 am

    We just got our first “stick to the ground” snowfall on Friday. Usually it snows the beginning of November. We got lucky this year!

  2. Accountable permalink
    December 5, 2007 11:57 am

    We were lucky and only got a light dusting. It’ll be this afternoon!

  3. December 5, 2007 12:54 pm

    The parking lot is going to be a skating rink tonight when all the slush freezes. We just went out to play in it for about 20 minutes. We walked down the road and back, making footprints.

  4. Accountable permalink
    December 5, 2007 7:45 pm

    I guess we got more than I thought. It’s still here.

  5. seaswell permalink
    December 6, 2007 1:22 pm

    what a great link, the pictures are beautiful – who knew all of that delicate beauty could be such a pain in the ass to shovel!

  6. December 6, 2007 1:46 pm

    It’s all about perspective, I guess. If the snow is under a microscope it can be considered beautiful, but if your car is under a lot of snow and you needed to go somewhere, then maybe not so much. As you wisely word it: delicate vs. pain-in-the-ass. It also helps to beautify them by calling them snow crystals instead of snow flakes. 😆 Thanks for coming over to my blog, seaswell. Your blog is so interesting and funny. I love it!

  7. Hawk permalink
    December 8, 2007 10:23 pm

    Slush – not so good. Snow…and lots of it, absolutely grand! That is if you like frolicking in the snow. I was Arizona when you got your first slushing, dusting, or snow as we know.

    It’s always good to play in it, even if it ONLY is slush!

    Wassup, lady! I’m back…

  8. December 9, 2007 12:31 am

    It has all melted. Today was so mild!

    Hawk, I’m glad you’re back in blogland. 🙂 Thanks for coming by to comment.

  9. Hawk permalink
    December 9, 2007 5:51 pm

    My pleasure lady. Unfortunately, I never seem to have all the time I need to do the things I would prefer to be doing. Blogging, of course, is one such thing. As they say, everything is about proper balance. And, at the moment, I’m about ready to drop from the high-wire, LOL!

    Just kidding…

  10. December 12, 2007 4:47 pm

    I know what you mean. *sigh*

Comments are closed.

