Skip to content

Ode to United States Immigrants

December 4, 2007

I remember in high school when I used to rearrange lyrics written by Kurt Cobain into poems.  I would take a few lines from each song and combine them in a new way to make a poem of my own.  I made a really poignant one when I was trying to comprehend his suicide.  For some reason I find that really intriguing and it makes me feel pseudo-creative, like a scrapbooker who takes cut-up photos and rearranges them in a collage to tell a story.

As a wordpress blogger, I am enjoying the opportunity to rearrange some search engine terms into thematic poems.  Watch out: this may become a regular installment at Fighting Windmills.  The words are not mine; they are phrases that people who clicked into my blog put into search engines.  Each line break signals the transition from one coherent phrase to the next.  The creative process of compiling this poem lead me to italicize what I saw as the key word.  The last stanza is just classic.  I’m sorry if my sense of humor doesn’t exactly match yours; please know that I don’t intend to offend anyone.  I am hoping to spark interest and discussion.  A more serious discussion of latino immigration can be found here.

Today I am pleased to reveal the Search Engine Term Poem “Ode to United States Immigrants.”

illegal immigration location: usa
what do you have to do to get into the United States?
Immigrants are having trouble . . .

a different take on illegal immigrants . . .
advantages in having illegal immigrants . . .
Illegal Friendly States
The United States Congress loves illegal immigrants

Are They going to let Immigrants come?
What happens to deported aliens?
What happens if you are an illegal immigrant?
What are illegal immigrants able to do?

I have lived in the United States for 5 years . . .
why are white people suddenly concerned?

4 Comments
  1. Accountable permalink
    December 4, 2007 5:40 pm

    All search terms?? Wow… That last stanza, is good. I wish I were creative enough to do something like that, but my blog hits just aren’t as wild and crazy as yours! I guess I need to write about more wild and crazy things. Oh well.

    I still have not had any hits on anything related to Bonds. Garth Brooks, yes. Bonds, no.

  2. December 4, 2007 11:05 pm

    Yes, I promise, they are all real search terms coming in on different days. The only thing I did was add the italics and decide on the order/arrangement. I liked the first line because “immigration location” made me think of “imagination station.” Wild and crazy topics will bring wild and crazy people to your blog.

  3. Accountable permalink
    December 17, 2007 7:14 pm

    Here’s a similar post.. The content is taken from Spam subject lines!

    http://nownever.wordpress.com/2007/12/13/spam-poem/

  4. December 17, 2007 8:44 pm

    Thanks for the link, Accountable. 😛

Comments are closed.

