Skip to content

Little Ballerina

December 4, 2007

little ballerina

My daughter took a 12 week “introduction to dance” class this fall. Monday was her last class and the only time that parents were allowed to sit in the room and watch. My daughter said the classes without the parents were much better. She said we made her nervous and she worried that someone would laugh at her mistakes. The little girls in the class are 3 and 4 years old.

I was able to record parts of the class, but then I ran out of room on the memory card. DOH!

The teacher was excellent. She captured the girls’ attention and was firm and consistent about the rules for the class. Because the parents were in the room on the last day, the ballerinas lost their focus, but during a typical class they concentrated very hard. The teacher was right about keeping the parents in the lobby.

My daughter is visibly more fit and much more agile than she was when she began the class. She is now more likely to jump, twirl around, or declare that it is time to stretch her muscles. This class has given her confidence in her body’s ability to move gracefully and she places much more value on exercise now. We are so happy that she had the chance to take this introductory class.

. . .

11 Comments
  1. rosiemolinary permalink
    December 4, 2007 7:39 pm

    It was such a delight to watch this! What a joy– and what a wonderful lesson for all of them!

  2. December 4, 2007 11:14 pm

    Thanks, Rosie. It was so much fun to be there. There were a lot of lessons learned. Her participation in the class even started conversations between my daughter and me about hair color (race?) and whether or not that influenced a friendship.

  3. Accountable permalink
    December 5, 2007 11:56 am

    I took tap and ballet for a couple of years. I hope that Baby Girl is interested and she will want to take lessons too. I still have some pictures from those recitals too. Fun times and good memories.

  4. thecanvasgrey permalink
    December 6, 2007 7:36 am

    D-O-L-L! She is so precious! Thanks for sharing with us!!!!

  5. December 7, 2007 7:29 pm

    Oh gosh, that little video was so cute. Thanks for posting it! As well as the picture of your daughter looking so beautiful in her dance costume.

  6. December 7, 2007 11:32 pm

    Accountable, don’t you love what dance classes do for a little girl’s confidence? I hope your Baby Girl gets that chance in a year or two.

    Canvas Grey, thank you for your sweet comment. I’m so glad we can share our concerns and our joys with each other!

    Suz, thank you! My daughter likes the attention (I wonder where she got that trait from?)!

  7. Robert Hester permalink
    December 8, 2007 11:43 pm

    She is so cute!!!!!!

  8. December 9, 2007 12:32 am

    Thanks Robert. 🙂 I wish you could meet her!

  9. May 16, 2008 10:24 am

    That was so cute! I just LOVE watching little kids sing and dance. They are so adorable, I just want to squeeze them. Although the hool a hoop spinning was making me a little dizzy. The jumping over the line was my favorite part. It’s so funny to watch their little brains and bodies connect to do an activity like that. You can almost hear it as their brains say ‘ok, NOW!’. Love it 😀

  10. September 26, 2008 8:23 am

    So sweet! V is loving it. 🙂

  11. September 26, 2008 5:21 pm

    Thanks, Chris! It does take a lot of concentration for them to jump at that age. I liked watching them during that part too!

    Maya and V, thanks! We are glad you all took the time to watch. Hope you are enjoying your ballet class!

Comments are closed.

