Skip to content

Christmas Ornaments 2007

December 3, 2007

We have a Christmas tree in our apartment for the first time.  My husband and I celebrated three Christmas seasons together in Japan, but relied on his sister to put up the family Christmas tree in her apartment each year.  This season is the fourth time that we are celebrating Christmas in the United States together, but it is the first time that we have a tree in our living room.

Our tree is white with colored lights.  It has a pink glow to it, so all of my photos reflect that.  I’m not a great photographer, nor is my camera meant for indoor macro shots, however I wanted to share a few of our ornaments with you all.  Some were given to me by my parents and have hung on their trees in the past.  Others are irreverent charms or keychains that I decided would double as ornaments in order to celebrate our multi-cultural past.

angel playing violin

penguin parent and child

this used to hang from my husband's keitai (mobile phone charm)

glass globe

a keychain from japan

a brass angel

12 Comments
  1. Accountable permalink
    December 3, 2007 9:20 am

    Thank you for sharing a bit of your Christmas tree and ornaments!

  2. December 3, 2007 9:40 am

    You’re welcome. I just re-read my last sentence and I’m a little confused as to what I am even talking about. For the record, lol, our multiculturalness is not in the past. It’s like I’m saying “well, we’ve put our culture behind us and now it’s time to move on. . .” but that’s not what I meant. I meant that we used to live in Japan and we have Japanese things so I put some of them on our tree.

  3. marielsgarden permalink
    December 3, 2007 10:23 am

    Some of us take care to choose our Christmas ornaments because they reflects our moods and tastes. Some day we can look at them and remember for they represent memories wrapped in tiny packages. Have a joyous and blessed Christmas.

  4. December 3, 2007 10:40 am

    Thank you, marielsgarden. Your thoughts on ornaments representing memories truly speak to me. I know that this Christmas season is painful for you and your daughter. But it feels so spiritual for us to connect through a blog post about Christmas ornaments. I feel like the connection is not random. I hope your family has a joyous and blessed Christmas too.

    http://marielsgarden.wordpress.com/2007/12/03/mariels-christmas-tree/

  5. December 3, 2007 11:42 am

    Where o where o where did you find the babywearing penguin??? That is adorable. The pink glow actually looks lovely. thanks for sharing!

  6. December 3, 2007 11:57 am

    The penguin ornament is from Hallmark. My mom gave it to us. Thanks for your sweet comments!

  7. December 3, 2007 12:26 pm

    The globe ornament is gorgeous! I want one!!

    Is the first one made of leather? I like it.

  8. December 3, 2007 12:38 pm

    Yes, the first one is made of leather. I like the glass globe too. For display with extreme caution around cats and toddlers! LOL!

  9. December 3, 2007 12:52 pm

    Yeah, my cats have already knocked off several ornaments. I keep finding them under the couch!

  10. December 3, 2007 3:36 pm

    They are beautiful! I love the way your tree glows!

  11. December 3, 2007 6:05 pm

    I like the globe ornament too. That is stunning.

    LOL we all have the same problem – katz and/or kidz.

    Beautiful job Miss Windmills.

  12. December 3, 2007 10:29 pm

    I like the globe but they are all beautiful. It is so beautiful when we can have something from our loved ones on the tree. Your memories will grow and you will probably make some new traditions with your family. One of my fondest memories is our daughter as a toddler when her Daddy would hold her up to put an angel on top. Today all these years later, she still wants the tattered and worn angel on top. Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.

